Skip to content

Let’s Look in the Refrigerator Again

January 3, 2009

Inspired by a meme I saw on Wendy’s blog Life With Buck, I took photos of my refrigerator last January.  We’ve made a few changes in how we eat and there is still a lot of room for improvement.  Here is what my refrigerator looks like in 2009:

. . .

refrigerator meme

. . .

refrigerator meme

. . .

The changes were made possible by the opening of a new grocery store in our city which carries more organic brands than were available before.  I have switched to Nature’s Promise brand ketchup, flour tortillas, and sunflower seeds.  The new grocery store also carries Kefir which I had not tried until this summer.  I really like it.  I’ve been insisting that my children buy the Stoneyfield Farm organic yogurt.  I talk honestly with them about the ingredients in some of the other kinds of yogurt marketed to children.  I now only buy Florida’s Natural brand of orange and apple juices because I like that they come from the United States.

I also make a trip at least twice a month to the Natural Food store in our city.  They carry eggs and ground beef from Joel Salatin’s farm.  I browse there and find new foods for us to try.  I buy our olive oil there, and organic lollipops, and sometimes whole-grain bread.

The brand of mayonnaise is the same as last year.  My husband still drinks soda, and now my son likes it too.  But, we don’t buy Gatorade anymore.  We still buy a lot of little jars of Peruvian spices for our dinners: garlic, ají panca, ají amarillo, rocoto.  There is a big jar of Peruvian black olives that we also bought from La Bodega Peruana.  We still eat a lot of cream cheese.  Most brands of mango juice are less than 20% juice and contain high fructose corn syrup, but I found the Ceres brand does a blend of 100% fruit juices.

In the vegetable bins we have cabbage, celery, limes, carrots, cilantro, bok choy, scallions (green onions), radishes, and lettuce.  In the cheese bin we have block cheese, string cheese, mexican style queso fresco, some deli meats, and butter.

At least this year I took the photos after shopping rather than before.  It doesn’t look so empty.  So, care to share what’s in your refrigerator?  Do you have goals for improving your eating habits in 2009?

12 Comments
  1. January 4, 2009 12:07 pm

    I had a “where the hell is the beer?” all ready to go, and then I spotted it.

    This is the refrigerator of a person much healthier than I. 🙂

  2. January 4, 2009 6:25 pm

    1- Your fridge is SOOO clean!

    2- You drink kefir– I keep wanting to try it. We bought the stuff to make it and haven’t yet….

    3- maybe to get your family off soda you could try kombucha… it’s this yummy fizzy drink that’s super healthy. We drink it a lot (when I have it made, that is) and I love it. If you mx it with just a tad bit of juice it’s more palatable (it’s rather tart/sour on it’ own).

    4- Your fridge does look much healthier than last year- Good job! 🙂 OH and I am totally jelous that there is Salatin food at your grocery. 🙂

  3. January 4, 2009 9:33 pm

    It’s so funny that you posted this again. Another blog that I read posted this: http://www.quirkyjessi.com/2009/01/you-are-what-you-eat-fridgewatcher.html

    LOL!!

  4. January 4, 2009 10:36 pm

    your fridge looks gorgeous and clean!

    i will not be sharing my fridge at the moment, but thanks for asking.

    i will tell you that it’s full of vegetables, though. we’re going to be eating lots of those this year.

  5. January 4, 2009 10:37 pm

    oh, and looking at your recipe page? i want to come to your house for dinner!

  6. January 5, 2009 8:57 am

    Your fridge – looks so clean!

    My sister recommended the Cooking Light Slow Cooker cookbook, so I bought it. I think having easy meals, ready to go at the end of the day will help me and my family. I always do better with healthy eating when I plan meals better. Tonight, it’s BBQ chicken.

  7. January 5, 2009 12:09 pm

    I have to agree with everyone else–your fridge is so clean. I use Nature’s Promise stuff too. Yesterday I spent a good amount of time on line trying to find nitrate free sliced ham. I found a company called Applegate farms. All their meat is organic and nitrate free. There is a health food store on the island where we are moving who carries it. If they don’t have what I want it can be ordered online. We also buy only Stonyfield yogurt. I try to buy only organic vegetables and fruits too.

  8. January 5, 2009 6:42 pm

    I wish mine looked at good and clean and straightened up like
    your does. I just need to eat right PERIOD!!!! LO)L

  9. Susannah permalink
    January 6, 2009 2:22 pm

    Mine is either fully stocked or almost empty I swear….I bought groceries last night so it’s brimming with stuff and not nearly as organized as yours!

    We buy as much Organic produce and processed foods as we can. And we buy all of our meat and eggs at Sunrise Farm in Stuarts Draft.

    My goal is to get my husband off junk foods like chips and Little Debbie snacks! He also loves the Chinese and Thai meals you can buy for microwave lunches but they are really high in sodium! I’ve managed to get him off most sodas, thank goodness.

    If you want a good alternative to Gatorade for your children, check out a product called Rehydrate from Advocare. I buy all of our vitamins and energy drinks from them (I’m also an independent distributor) and Rehydrate has more nutrients and less sugar than any other sports drink that I’ve seen. http://www.advocare.com/Microsite/Images/Store/Labels/A2402.pdf

  10. Lofter permalink
    January 6, 2009 7:14 pm

    My refrigerator is easy… a gallon jug of Red Diamond sweet tea, a bottle of apple juice (100%, no concentrate), two packages of mesquite hot dogs, a 24-slice package of Kraft cheese, a jar of apple butter, a bottle of mustard, a bottle of ketchup (Heinz, of course – like the Kerry’s need my money! Ha!), a bottle of mayonaisse (not Miracle Whip), a bottle of Frosty’s Root Beer, and a bottle of Fresca. See… single men who don’t cook don’t really need a refrigerator! But if you want to share one of those Bud Lights, that would be great! 🙂

    I’ve tagged you on my blog to participate in the latest silly meme’ that’s making the rounds! Dart over and check it out – I’m anxious to see your response!

  11. January 10, 2009 9:08 am

    FW, you have the most organized refrigerator I’ve ever seen! I like to think mine is clean but it’s not tidy. You definetely have more healthy food in yours than I do but we are a work in progress. I think my family has done a better job of eating more homemade meals and a lot more veggies. We aren’t the healthiest or even close to organic yet but we’re getting there! It’s good to see ideas like this on your blog to inspire and educate us.

    Happy New Year!!!!

  12. January 13, 2009 3:48 pm

    Right now I have the following in my refrigerator (abridged contents):

    1 lb. organic chicken breast
    10 cans of Jones root beer (no high-fruc corn syrup)
    1 bunch of organic celery
    2 organic squash
    1 pint heavy cream
    2 jars of baby dill pickles
    1 jar of Paul Newman Italian dressing
    3 organic apples and 2 oranges
    1 gallon of Whole Foods spring water
    7 Sam Adam’s Lager beers
    1 container of parmesean(sp) cheese

    In the freezer I have several Amy’s frozen dinners, Whole Foods burritos, and a 1.75 liter bottle of Svedka vodka.

    I have been doing fairly well as far as vittle intake decisions go for the past year. If I can stay consistent and avoid sugars and excessive carbs (my weakness) I should be able to hit my target weight in 3 months. I have been practicing portion control and that helps a lot. This also ensures I have leftovers to eat the next day and that cuts down on vittle expenses.

Comments are closed.

