Skip to content

Hello and Welcome, 2009

January 1, 2009

In March 2009 my husband and I are planning to see Ani DiFranco in concert. We have front row tickets to her Charlottesville concert. We saw her in 2005 in Greensboro and in 2007 in Asheville. I have never been on the front row of any concert before. I’m giddy about it!  If she starts singing that annoying song she wrote about President Obama, I’ll just pretend I need to go to the bathroom and excuse myself.  Well, I probably will need to go to the bathroom at some point, being pregnant and all.

In April 2009 I will celebrate my thirtieth birthday.  That’s pretty exciting!

In July 2009 we are hoping for the best as we welcome our third child into our family.

In December 2009 my husband wants us all to go to Peru and spend Christmas there. It’s something he just recently brought up, but it sounds like a good idea to me. Yay, traveling with three little children to a third world country!!!

I don’t have any resolutions, per se, for 2009, although I really like this list of things to remember that Alexis put on her blog.  I want to continue to take a lot of photos; maybe I could post a photo a day on my blog for a month.  I also like what Lune said about parenting on her blog.  Although I do have the occasional angry explosion while parenting, I tend to approach life with that kind of zen attitude.  My dad taught me to not make a fuss about much, even though I am very sensitive.

I had to sit with my daughter in the hospital’s waiting room for 4 hours on Monday night, but I enjoyed the time with her.  I read her some stories from our sack of library books and kissed the top of her head as she slept.  It didn’t feel frustrating; in fact it felt like I was doing exactly what I should be doing the whole time.  She had a stomach virus and had been vomiting during the early morning.  Then her fever spiked suddenly in the late afternoon and at 5:30 pm she had a febrile seizure.  It was her second time scaring us like that.  The first febrile seizure she had was when she was around 18 months old.  It is awful to witness and worthy of a trip to the emergency room, but it is also something that I can handle.

God does not ask me to take on anything that I cannot handle.  I have hope for these wonderful things we have planned in 2009, and I also have hope for the things unseen.

9 Comments
  1. January 1, 2009 12:51 am

    *HAPPY NEW YEAR!* May it be BLESSED with an ABUNDANCE of GOOD things! and OH! Can’t we go to Peru with you? LOL! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  2. January 1, 2009 8:36 am

    A NEW BABY!!!!! I totally missed that! How wonderful FW!!! I wish you a joyous and prosperous New Years! Your new bundle of joy is very fortunate to have a mom like you. Enjoy the concert and be blessed!

  3. January 1, 2009 11:33 am

    You have wonderful plans, and I can’t wait to hear about
    all of them as they unfold!!!!! Happy New Year!! Take care
    and take care of that bundle of joy you will have in your
    arms soon!!!! HUGS to you!!!!

  4. January 1, 2009 12:43 pm

    Happy New Year!

    I’m looking forward to another year of reading and I am waiting with you in birth of your new baby.

  5. January 1, 2009 5:41 pm

    Sounds great! Happy New Year! All the best to you and yours.

    Good luck traveling with a 5 month old baby!

  6. January 2, 2009 10:11 pm

    It sounds like you have a good year to look forward to as do I. I hope you have a wonderful New Year!!!

  7. January 3, 2009 9:38 am

    Happy New Year. The potential Peru trip sounds amazing!
    Hope the pregnancy is going well–and sorry about your daughter’s illness. Love the confidence in your mothering. It’s a wonderful feeling, isn’t it?

  8. January 7, 2009 8:48 pm

    Congratulations on the pregnancy!!

    Now, fill me in on this Ani Difranco song about Obama and why you don’t like it.

  9. January 10, 2009 12:14 pm

    That looks like a wonderful schedule for 2009. Exciting and positive developments. Well, maybe not turning 30…but hey it’s better than turning 40.

    (whistles “always look on the bright side of life”)

    Heh.

    I can’t help thinking your year would be more exciting though if you combined all of these major events into one week.

Comments are closed.

