Skip to content

Microcosm

December 31, 2008

On a day when my parents’ front yard was really wet, I got the idea to harvest some patches of moss.  I want to see if I can cultivate (by essentially leaving it alone) a little terrarium in a glass jar.  First I chose three patches of moss and tried my best to get the roots and the moist soil to come up intact.  Then I chose a glass jar from my dad’s basement and put some gravel in it.  Then I just placed the moss with its attached soil on top of the rocks.  I poked the moss patches into place and closed the jar.  It has been more than a week and most of the moss seems to be thriving.  The jar fills up with condensation, so a few sprouts of grass have shot up.  I even noticed a tiny fern leaf as I was taking photos this morning.  That would be excellent if the fern leaf were to do well in there!

. . .

moss terrarium

. . .

moss terrarium

. . .

moss terrarium

. . .

moss terrarium

. . .

I don’t like New Year’s Eve and I never have.  I think I just have a grudge against alcohol and the stupid things it can inspire people to do.  But, anyway, I am glad that my husband gets another long weekend and of course we are very excited about 2009.  It will be the year of the Ox, according to the Chinese Zodiac.

5 Comments
  1. December 31, 2008 10:27 am

    I love the delicate leaves on the moss and the ferns. I hope your terrarium continues to thrive. The pictures are beautiful, but it makes me laugh because you have the snow falling on your blog over the terrarium. I imagine it wouldn’t survive well in an actual snow storm.

    Best wishes for you all in 2009!

  2. December 31, 2008 4:20 pm

    Thanks, Ann! I love wordpress snow. I will miss it when they take it away in the next couple of days. 😦 Thank you for the well wishes for my terrarium and for my family. I hope your family has a great year as well!!

  3. thebeadden permalink
    December 31, 2008 6:34 pm

    What great pictures you take.
    Just wanted to stop by to wish you a Happy New Year!

  4. December 31, 2008 11:13 pm

    Happy New Years FW!!! May all blessings be yours and your families……..

Comments are closed.

