Skip to content

Christmas Nostalgia

December 24, 2008

The most nostalgic Christmas song that I know is Ven a mi Casa Esta Navidad sung by Luis Aguilé.  When my husband and I celebrated Christmas at his sister’s apartment, they always played this song because they felt so lonely in Japan.  The ambiente was totally different from the ambiente in Peru, and there were so many people they longed to see.  Some of his brothers and sisters haven’t even gone back to visit since they moved to Japan in the early 90’s.

Now that we live in the United States, my husband is apart from both his parents in Peru and his brothers and sisters in Japan.  There is always a little bit of tension in our relationship as I wonder if he is comfortable here or not.

Translation:

You who are far from your friends, your country, and your home,
and feel sadness down to your core,
why don’t you stop thinking about the things that tonight
you can’t keep from remembering?
I want you to know that here at my table there is a place for you.

For that reason and many more,
come to my house this Christmas.
For that reason and many more,
come to my house this Christmas.

You who remember, perhaps your mother
or perhaps a child who is not here,
I want you to know that tonight, they will be with you.
Don’t roam the streets alone, wishing to stupefy yourself.
Come with us and by our side, try to smile.

For that reason and many more,
come to my house this Christmas.
For that reason and many more,
come to my house this Christmas.

(spoken) You who have always turned your back and lived without forgiving any mistakes, now is the time for us to get together. Please come to my house. It’s time for us to chat as if nothing has happened. In these days, everything is forgiven.

For that reason and many more,
come to my house this Christmas.
For that reason and many more,
come to my house this Christmas.

4 Comments
  1. December 25, 2008 1:32 pm

    Merry Christmas to you and your family.

  2. December 25, 2008 8:05 pm

    Lovely song. Merry Christmas to you and yours!

  3. You, madam, are no Ambrose Bierce permalink
    December 30, 2008 6:03 pm

    So awesome, thank you. Happy New Year!

  4. December 31, 2008 4:21 pm

    Thank you, Saintseester and Bo.

    Madam, I’m so glad you shared it with Carlos. That makes me happy. Best wishes for you both in the new year!

Comments are closed.

