Skip to content

Winter Solstice

December 21, 2008

This afternoon I took my children to visit my parents, and I got another chance to work on the dollhouse which is now in their basement.  On the way to their house, we stopped at the cemetery because my daughter has been wanting to go back to see the gravestone again.  She gathered a few artificial flowers that had strayed from bouquets and honored “Grandma and Granddad’s baby” in the way that she thought best.  There were flowers scattered everywhere by the strong wind so it seemed like it would be alright to let her arrange them there.

. . .

winter solstice 2008

. . .

I took some other photos today, thinking of the Winter Solstice and paying attention to nature’s beauty.

. . .

winter solstice 2008

. . .

winter solstice 2008

. . .

winter solstice 2008

. . .

I made some more progress on the dollhouse, concentrating most of my effort on the areas around the windows.  I filled them in with putty that can be sanded and painted this week.  I ran my hands along the walls, floors and ceilings feeling for places that needed to be smoothed with sandpaper and putty.  I continued to pull out staples from the walls with a big pair of pliers.  I think they had been used for some form of window dressing, but I’m not sure why there were so many.  I would love to have enough time to finish the restoration before Christmas, but my daughter doesn’t have preschool this week, so it will be hard to work in secret.

Happy Winter Solstice!

3 Comments
  1. December 22, 2008 8:27 am

    Your eye is better than ever and so is your photography. I found that I was much more “in tune” when pregnant…do you find that? These pics are so beautiful. I stopped by to wish you and your family a blessed and joyful Christmas and the best New Year EVER! Love, Deb

  2. December 22, 2008 11:25 am

    The tree is my fave. I have a thing for trees. The stump is also really nice. Cheers.

  3. December 24, 2008 12:43 pm

    Thank you, CG! I don’t know about being more in tune, but I do feel more relaxed and accepting of the little person inside me than I have been in the past. I hope your family enjoys the holiday too.

    Evenshine, thank you. I like noticing the branches of trees in the winter and the exposed roots were fun to look at too. I have a thing for moss, so I understand what you mean. 🙂

Comments are closed.

