Skip to content

F-F-Friday (25)

December 19, 2008

For Spanish class on Wednesday, I took my poinsettia plant into the classroom and showed the children the leaves (hojas rojas and hojas verdes).  I read them the story of how the poinsettia bloomed for the first time.  Tomie dePaola retells and illustrates la Flor de Nochebuena, a legend about what happened on Christmas Eve in a little village in Mexico.  I had a copy of the book in Spanish, but the children were not willing to listen to it in Spanish.  I ended up translating it on the spot and summarizing each page in English.  Then I taught them a few key words in Spanish that came from the book.

La Leyenda de la Flor de Nochebuena

Today at 11:30 the preschoolers are going to sing holiday songs for us (the parents, grandparents and siblings) as part of their school’s “Celebration of Lights,” and two of their songs are in Spanish.  In anticipation over the past two weeks, we have been practicing Feliz Navidad and Campanas de Belén during the last part of their Spanish class.

3 Comments
  1. December 19, 2008 8:38 am

    I love that story! I have this image of “the children were not willing to listen to it in Spanish”… did they all cover their ears and yell NOOOOOooooooo? or just look at you funny?

    I asked the moms in my neighborhood if their kids would want to go caroling with me and my idea got shot down. I’m a little bummed…

  2. December 19, 2008 10:33 am

    Merry Christmas!

  3. December 19, 2008 4:32 pm

    CuriousC, they started fidgeting and asking to skip to the end after a few pages. It is quite a long book and I was reading each page in Spanish and then summarizing it in English. But then I saw how frustrated they felt, so I decided not to continue in Spanish. So sorry your idea for caroling was shot down. 😦

    Thanks, Saintseester! Happy Birthday!

Comments are closed.

