Skip to content

Depressing Song Meme

December 8, 2008

I got tagged by Lofter with the most depressing song meme.

“All My Little Words” by the Magnetic Fields

You are a splendid butterfly
It is your wings that make you beautiful
And I could make you fly away
But I could never make you stay
You said you were in love with me
Both of us know that that’s impossible
And I could make you rue the day
But I could never make you stay

Not for all the tea in China
Not if I could sing like a bird
Not for all North Carolina
Not for all my little words
Not if I could write for you
The sweetest song you ever heard
It doesn’t matter what I do
Not for all my little words

Now that you’ve made me want to die
You tell me that you’re unboyfriendable
And I could make you pay and pay
But I could never make you stay

Many of the songs written by Stephin Merrit are depressing, but in a strangely nice way. I like this one because it mentions North Carolina. There’s a YouTube Channel dedicated to Stephin Merrit, with lots more depressing songs.  The songs are combined with black and white films from around 1900.  The video below of “All My Little Words” is from a live performance in Barcelona.

. . .

. . .

9 Comments
  1. December 8, 2008 7:25 pm

    I can still tear up at “Cat’s in the Cradle” in the right/wrong mood. I’ll make that my #3. My second most depressing song is “Morningside” by Neil Diamond. And the one that consistently rips my heart out is “Down from Dover” by Dolly Parton.

  2. Lofter permalink
    December 10, 2008 9:46 am

    Great choice, my friend… and depressing, in a sort of pleasant way! 🙂

  3. December 11, 2008 11:15 am

    Tag me, tag me! I have a song and I need to give you props for tagging me 🙂

  4. December 11, 2008 11:55 am

    Bo, I remember “Cat’s in the Cradle” from when Ugly Kid Joe sang it. I am too young to know the original version, but yes it is a depressing song. And, wow, I listened to Dolly Parton’s “Down from Dover” for the first time today. Now THAT is a depressing song.

    Thanks, Lofter!

    M. Wade, consider yourself tagged then. I’ll look forward to your choice.

  5. December 11, 2008 2:23 pm

    FightingWindmills: I love Cat’s in the Cradle.” My father and I bond over that song, vowing to never let that happen to us. And I think it was originally done by Ugly Kid Joe.

    Also, posted mine already. Thanks.

    http://packphour.wordpress.com/2008/12/11/depressing-song-meme/

  6. December 11, 2008 5:21 pm

    M. Wade, no, the original was by Harry Chapin in 1974. I’ve never heard his version, but I found out about it today, looking for lyrics on the internet.

  7. December 12, 2008 9:13 am

    My first exposure to “Down from Dover” was actually as a Nancy Sinatra cover. (Large Nancy fan am I.) She sang it as a duet with Lee Hazlewood. Nancy has her strengths, but to be kind, she had a bit of a credibility deficit with these lyrics. Dolly’s original is the far stronger song.

    And I’m not much older than you are. I probably don’t remember the original “Cat’s in the Cradle” any better than you do. Just heard it here and there. 🙂

  8. December 12, 2008 5:46 pm

    The video that you linked to was beautiful, Bo. Thanks! And I hope you didn’t take offense because I didn’t mean to imply anything about your age!

  9. December 12, 2008 8:36 pm

    Certainly not. No worries. Glad you enjoyed the video!

Comments are closed.

