Skip to content

Favorite Stocking Stuffers

December 6, 2008

This is a list of my favorite stocking stuffers.  My parents always gave us oranges, candy canes, chocolate bars, toothbrushes and toothpaste, and nail care items like polish or emery boards.  They have a brick fireplace with four hooks for stockings on the mantle.

In our apartment we don’t have a fireplace, but I still like the idea of stockings stuffed with little gifts for my children.  I haven’t given much thought to what I might put in my husband’s stocking.  My husband won a $20 Target gift card and also received the door prize of a $20 Food Lion (a grocery store) gift card at his company holiday party, so it looks like I may be able to stuff our family’s stockings just by using those two gift cards.  Although a lot of the cute things that I would love to be able to buy are on-line.  Well, does your family do stockings?  What kinds of things are going to be in your family’s stockings this year?

Crayon Rocks

Stickers

Toothbrushes and Toothpaste

Stationary or bookplates or small notebooks

Pocky (the shape of the box is perfect!)

Pencil Case with Colored Pencils

Animals made by Schleich from Target

Hairbrush and comb set

Candy canes and homemade cookies (presented in a plastic bag with a ribbon)

6 Comments
  1. December 6, 2008 11:02 pm

    All great ideas! Our stockings are up and I’ll have to steal your ideas. 🙂

  2. Lofter permalink
    December 6, 2008 11:06 pm

    Great stocking stuffers, for sure! But I must change the subject, as I’ve tagged you in the newest meme going around! Here’s the deal… ”The most depressing song of all time, which we still love to hear”
    Post a video and the lyrics (if applicable) of your most loved, most depressive song of all time, and tag three others to do the same.
    I’m sorry! And good luck! :->

  3. December 7, 2008 9:58 am

    We love to put a tangerine in ours with a napkin.

    Also, litlle bit of chocolate, pens, small note pads, lifesavers.

    If I think of more I’ll let you know!

    HUGS!

  4. December 7, 2008 9:48 pm

    We always did tooth brushes. I’m sure there was more that was traditional, but I only remember the toothbrushes.

  5. December 8, 2008 4:31 am

    santa always put an orange in the toe of our stockings. and wrapped some items in tin foil that we then recycled.

    Mini play-doh is fun, and small board books for the little kiddos. Dollar Store rocks!

    what is POCKY?

  6. December 8, 2008 10:29 am

    Goldie, Pocky is a Japanese snack that we like. They sell the strawberry and chocolate flavors at Wal-Mart. In Japan there are dozens of varieties, and some flavors are rotated in seasonally. Here is a photo.

Comments are closed.

