Skip to content

My Weirdness in Photos

December 4, 2008

I’ve done the meme Six Weird Things About Me, and I was just noticing some things recently about myself that could be better described in photos.  So I took these three photos (I was trying for six, but didn’t get there) in order to give you some insight into my weirdness.

. . .

long pinky fingernails

I like to let my pinky nails get really long. I can't grow the other fingernails too long because I don't want to scratch my children.

. . .

our toothbrush collection

There are one for my husband, two for me, four for my son, and nine for my daughter. We will most likely have new toothbrushes as stocking stuffers. We like to have a lot on hand.

. . .

corn dogs

So much of the food at the grocery store triggers nausea, but when I saw these "Batter Wrapped Beef Hot Dogs On a Stick" I could only imagine how delicious they would be. Pregnancy sometimes causes me to make weird choices.

. . .

12 Comments
  1. December 4, 2008 11:15 pm

    Wow! That’s a bunch of toothbrushes! Your dentist must be proud of you… 🙂

  2. December 5, 2008 12:15 am

    The toothbrushes cracked me up.

    The beef corndogs made me queasy. 😦

  3. December 5, 2008 7:45 am

    HOLY COW, lady! That is A LOT of toothbrushes! Let it never be said that you don’t want your kids to brush their teeth LOL. I also let my pinkie nails grow out too long.

    I missed your preggers announcement!!! Did you post it and I didn’t see it? Sorry I’ve been an absentee blogger these days. How far along are you??? Congratulations!

    And I do have to say I am VERY surprised to see you bought those corndogs. I would never have guessed. Are you past the nauseated stage? I craved shrimp (which I normally can NOT stand) and chocolate with Emma & cheeseburgers with Gerrit. But with both of them, I should have known I was pregnant because I was DYING for avocado. Could not get enough before I found out with both of them.

  4. December 5, 2008 8:49 am

    The nails don’t freak me out too much- mine do the same thing. Now, if it was your husband’s nails…that might be different!

  5. December 5, 2008 9:53 am

    Love it! I think if I did a photographic weird things about me, it could be a little sickening??? But I might just keep this in mind and take shots when I notice me doing my weird things!

  6. December 5, 2008 10:12 am

    We do the tooth brushes in the stocking thing too! Although in our tooth brush cup, hubby & I each have two. One for our teeth and one for cleaning our teeth night guard.

    I can’t let my fingers grow too long, it gets in the way of my typing! LOL

  7. December 5, 2008 3:17 pm

    My daughter’s eating habits have changed a lot since she became pregnant. She eats a lot of eggs. She doesn’t like heavy meals. She also craves cereal.

    Well, you people must have good teeth at least.

    That fingernail thing is cool. I might try that. I could still keep all my other nails short but at the same time have a couple of long ones.

    I guess we all have our weird little things about us. That’s what makes us unique.

  8. minnesotameetskarnataka permalink
    December 6, 2008 2:15 pm

    Interesting idea! I enjoyed the photos.

    I’ve rarely seen pinky nails that long!

    How long would you grow your nails if you could grow them as long as you wanted?

    How does everyone keep their toothbrush straight? (that was a challenge in our house of 6 people when I was a kid)

  9. December 7, 2008 1:55 pm

    I used to grow out my pinky nail, but it didn’t go over to well with family and friends (being a guy and all). And then I was told that people used to do it so they could snort cocaine from it, so…

    Just saying 🙂

  10. December 11, 2008 12:18 pm

    Minnie, my husband and I keep our toothbrushes straight by color and my children have such amazing memories that they don’t get their brushes mixed up. It’s never been a problem. I like my nails the length that they are in that photo. The pinky nails are a little longer than is comfortable, so I trimmed them.

    M. Wade, Ah yes, the coke nail. I know it well. My husband does grow his pinky nails longer than the others too. His job makes it very hard to have nice nails, though. But in Japan where his job was less intense he liked having long nails.

  11. refincher permalink
    December 22, 2008 1:04 pm

    I laughed about the toothbrushes too! And as for corn dogs, well, every pregnancy seems to have its own special weirdness. We are fond of saying that my oldest child is mostly made of wonton soup, and my second one, of fresh tomatoes and peanut butter sandwiches. And I, myself, personally, am mostly comprised of Krystal Burgers, or so my grandmother tells me.

  12. December 24, 2008 12:34 pm

    Rebecca, I don’t know what is up with those corndogs. It was just a feeling I had in the store, surrounded by food that was making me feel sick. It seemed like a comfort food. I am loving peanut butter and banana sandwiches. And I like to get Indian food when I can (it is so expensive, though!).

Comments are closed.

