Skip to content

Tractor Man

December 3, 2008

My son loves seeing bulldozers and other earth movers in action.  We live near a road that is being widened so we get to see them daily.  My son calls the men that operate the machines “Tractor Man” and has great respect for what they do.  We bought him a bulldozer toy with a manly voice that calls out, “Get your hardhat!” and “Let’s build something!”.  Sometimes I let my children take photos of whatever they find interesting.  They tend to take photos of their toys.  I showed them how to set the macro button and taught them to try to hold the camera as still as possible.  I was really excited when this photo of Tractor Man (that my 2 year old took!) turned out so well.

. . .

tractor man bulldozer toy

. . .

We salute you, Tractor Man!  “Ready for work!”

5 Comments
  1. December 3, 2008 11:29 am

    Thank you Tractor Man for valiantly serving your country by making our treks safe and swift. Our brittle bones and our vehicle suspensions are forever indebted to you.

  2. December 3, 2008 11:49 am

    Is your daughter as interested in construction vehicles? My son is obsessed with all kinds of trucks, following the gender sterotype. It doesn’t bother me…I just find it interesting. “Kement Mixer! Tanker! Digger!”

  3. December 3, 2008 1:29 pm

    Johnny, exactly. Real American Heroes.

    Westward Bound, they both play with all our toys, but they still follow gender stereotypes when asking for new toys. For example, if I give them a catalog of new toys, my daughter will look for unicorns and horses, but she’s interested in what her brother is going to pick to see if she would like to play along. My son loves trucks. He studies their names. It is fun when he points them out as he sees them in action. My daughter is not quite as enthusiastic about trucks, but they both like Thomas the Tank Engine. I am giving my daughter my old dollhouse for Christmas, and I know my son is going to love playing with it too.

  4. December 5, 2008 9:33 pm

    terrific photo!

  5. December 6, 2008 7:57 pm

    Thanks, blue milk.

Comments are closed.

