Skip to content

We Are Thankful

November 25, 2008

I had pumpkin pie for breakfast this morning. It was delicious! Thanks, Dad!

. . .

Thanksgiving 2008

my dad makes the best pumpkin pie

. . .

Thanksgiving 2008

"Mine's not a turkey. Mine's a wolf."

. . .

Thanksgiving 2008

my daughter's list of what she is thankful for

. . .

Thanksgiving 2008

my personal list of what I am thankful for

. . .

This Thanksgiving art project is simple. We read about it in the Farm Bureau’s magazine. Just use your index finger to make the top row of red feathers (about 10 prints) on a paper plate.  Then wipe the red paint off your finger, and make the second row of orange feathers (about 7 prints).  Then wipe the orange paint off your finger, and make the third row of yellow feathers (about 5 prints).  The turkey’s body can be made with the print of the side of your fist (it looks realistic that way) or with your thumb print.  Use brown paint for the body.

When the paint is dry, draw the details (beak, eyes and feet) on the turkey, and write what you are thankful for around the border of the plate.

16 Comments
  1. November 25, 2008 11:04 am

    How cute & neat!

    Pumpkin pie for breakfast. Yum.

  2. Lune permalink
    November 25, 2008 12:57 pm

    Gorgeous project, thanks for that FW, and thanks for visiting my blog, lovely to hear that you are cutting straws too!!!
    I would love to try this with my two girls esp. the I am thankful bit. We don’t celebrate thanksgiving here in Europe, but may just use this as an everyday “I am thankful” activity!
    Lune x
    p.s. I like the look of your blog, great template you got here!!!!

  3. Susannah permalink
    November 25, 2008 1:02 pm

    What a great project! You are an amazing mom–I hope someday I can have a child and use some of your ideas!

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. November 25, 2008 1:37 pm

    LOVE pie for breakfast. Especially apple with a slice of sharp cheese and maybe a bit of ham (very New England).

    What a wonderful art project. One year we wrote what we were thankful for on small pieces of paper, folded them carefully, and wrapped them into crescent rolls. Once they baked we handed them out and everyone got to read someone else’s. We tried to guess who wrote what. It was great fun and a good reminder of all our blessings.

    Happy Thanksgiving, friend!!!!

  5. November 25, 2008 2:53 pm

    I vote this the best Family Blog of 2008 🙂

    Lovely family.

  6. November 25, 2008 4:17 pm

    What a great project! You come across the best ideas!!!

    Happy Thanksgiving.

  7. November 25, 2008 10:07 pm

    mmm…I love dessert for breakfast!

    and congrats on the pregnancy (if on the wrong post, sorry!).

    I love that your daughter included “everything” in her list!

  8. November 26, 2008 6:02 am

    what what WHAT!!??? *scurrying to FW’s main page in excitement*

  9. November 26, 2008 10:38 pm

    Um, that slice of pie looks scrumptious. Pie for breakfast…

    Awesome!
    The children’s art pieces are cool and well done. i love how little sir did his own thang! And lovely girl is thankful for ‘everything’. How terrific is that?

    Gosh, i miss you! i miss your blog and beautiful pictures. i miss commenting on them.

    Have a wonderful holiday. Eat a piece of that yummy looking pie for me. 🙂

  10. Robert permalink
    November 27, 2008 12:16 am

    Happy Thanksgiving Sarah!

  11. November 29, 2008 5:03 pm

    *HAPPY THANKSGIVING WEEKEND!* and you totally bless me~I would TOTALLY eat that for breakfast! I wouldn’t let anyone else do it, but I sure would~isn’t that AWFUL?!!

    LOVE your daughter’s beautiful book! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  12. November 29, 2008 9:23 pm

    I didn’t write “the people who comment on my blog” on my list, but I am thankful for you! My daughter wrote “everything” because she saw that there was only a small space left for writing and she still had so much to say. We enjoyed this project. I’m glad you all like it. Thanks for all the good thoughts and kind comments!!

  13. November 29, 2008 10:28 pm

    Two things. First, I love how your comma separated lists have no beginning nor end; the thanks just keep on going forever. Was that how the instructions said to do it, or was that your way? Second, “everything” is a very touching addition to the list. I think we really should be thankful for everything, even the hardships in our lives. Very heartwarming post.

  14. November 30, 2008 1:48 pm

    That pie looks wonderful! Your list is wonderful just like you are!! Have a good Sunday! Remember to send your ss gift! HUGS!

  15. rosiemolinary permalink
    December 1, 2008 10:14 am

    What a cute idea– I’m so thankful that you share your great teaching and craft ideas here. It’s very inspiring to see how you parent.

  16. December 3, 2008 6:04 am

    Bikkuri, yes the list is supposed to look like that so that there is no beginning or end. It just has commas. My daughter was a little nervous about the last thing to squeeze into her list, so she told me to write “everything” and I thought it was a good idea.

    Gr8tful, I sent my gift on Monday. Thanks for setting that up and reminding me. The pie was so good and I ate the whole thing by myself (over four days). My husband and children don’t like pumpkin pie.

    Thanks, Rosie! I can’t wait for you to be a mom!!! You are going to be great.

Comments are closed.

