Skip to content

When Color Is Necessary

November 12, 2008

Some photographs need to be taken in color.  These are two examples that did not work at all in black and white.  The color is essential to their success.

. . .

pear tree

these ornamental pears are the size of cherries

. . .

nest with red leaves

an abandoned nest filled with red leaves and orange berries

. . .

These photographs were taken at my parents’ house on Sunday.  Below is the same ornamental grass against a cloudy sky that I posted yesterday in black and white.  In color, you can see the green spruce tree in the bottom right corner and it could be considered a distraction from the rest of the photo.  But, basically the grass against the sky works either way, I think.  It’s the same grass as Organic Mama photographed for her blog not long ago.  Seeing it on her blog is what inspired me to try the shot for myself.

. . .

ornamental grass blown by the wind

. . .

4 Comments
  1. November 12, 2008 8:22 am

    those are lovely. believe me, i’ve taken a TON of photos in b&w this month that just did not work! can be frustrating.

  2. Organic Mama permalink
    November 12, 2008 8:24 am

    Those are BEAUTIFUL, particularly the grass against the sky; there’s so much movement and I love how you’ve framed it. I also really like your first shot of the kids shot from under the ornamental pear tree – great color contrast. Thanks for the shout out!

  3. November 12, 2008 11:51 am

    You take such beautiful pictures!!

  4. November 12, 2008 12:18 pm

    Thank you, Maya. We’re learning from our frustration, so hang in there!

    Organic Mama, thank you! I love the shot of my children in their red hats too. It was fun to have it turn out just right. You are most welcome for the shout out. It would have just been me copying you, otherwise.

    Jenefur, thank you for saying that.

Comments are closed.

