Skip to content

How We Turned Our Computer Into a Karaoke Machine

November 10, 2008

I wasn’t feeling very well on Sunday morning, so my husband was in charge of the weekly shopping trip.  He came home with everything on the list I had asked for, as well as a few extra things.  The most random thing he bought was a microphone.  (This is one of the consequences of “grocery” shopping at Wal-Mart.)  Using videos on YouTube and plugging the microphone into the jack on the front of our computer, we turned our computer into a karaoke machine!  It is really fun.  Karaoke is part of Japanese culture, so we feel nostalgic when we think of what our life was like when we lived in Japan.  It is a great way to gain confidence in another language, too!  In my case, I like improving my ability to sing in Japanese and in my husband’s case, he likes improving his ability to sing in English.

Here’s an example of a song that is fun for all of us (even our children know the lyrics because we listen to this song in the car).  It is from the Japanese anime series Saint Seiya.  I like choosing a version of the song without romanji so that I can practice reading!

. . .

. . .

The only downside to singing karaoke with my husband is that he brought back some really bad memories of being forced by my host father to sing “Hey Jude” when I was studying abroad in Japan.  People think the Beatles are well-known and their songs are easy, but they forget that the last four minutes of “Hey Jude” you just have to sing, “Na na na na na na nah!” over and over.  I find that tedious and embarrassing.  We were having a great time finding appropriate songs to try until my husband got on a Beatles kick and passed me the microphone with the request that I sing “Hey Jude”.

There are all kinds of karaoke versions of songs on YouTube.  We set up our Christmas tree and decorations in our living room in the afternoon, so that night our daughter was in the mood to sing “Jingle Bells”.  She has known the lyrics to that song since before her birth.  I taught it to my students (which means it was repeatedly sung in every class for two weeks straight) while I was pregnant.  I could always tell she was awake during that part of class, paying attention to the song.

Have you ever sung karaoke?

4 Comments
  1. November 10, 2008 1:23 pm

    That sounds really fun! I once attended a very memorable company holiday party where guests sang karaoke. I never realized how many of my co-workers could sing, haha 🙂

  2. November 10, 2008 2:22 pm

    Amy, karaoke is a great activity for a company holiday party. My husband’s coworkers always did that for their end-of-the-year bash. It is interesting to hear other people sing in that context when you’ve never thought about their talent before.

  3. November 10, 2008 7:10 pm

    I’ve never sung Karaoke before. I think it sounds fun, though. We just don’t get out much. 🙂

  4. November 10, 2008 7:47 pm

    I did once in college. It was “The Devil went down to Georgia” not much singing there! We also had it at a holiday party 6 years ago? I was pregnant with my son. Someone decided to do “American Pie” I ended up sort of joing him becasue I knew the song.

Comments are closed.

