Skip to content

Park Black and White Photo Series

November 2, 2008

Maya, who blogs at Springtree Road, came up with an idea for learning more about black and white photography during November.  I am going to participate at least a couple of times.  Today my children and I went to the park and enjoyed the pleasant weather.  Here are some of the photos I took at the park.  I think the photo of the tic tac toe game would look better if I had shot it head-on instead of at a slight angle.  That way I could have emphasized the straight lines in all the blocks.  Let me know what you think of this series.

. . .

November in Black and White

. . .

park series

. . .

park series

. . .

park series

. . .

park series

. . .

park series

. . .

park series

. . .

park series

. . .

13 Comments
  1. November 2, 2008 8:43 pm

    these are fab!

  2. November 2, 2008 10:54 pm

    I really like the first one!!

  3. thebeadden permalink
    November 2, 2008 11:44 pm

    They really are nice pictures. There is just something about b&w photographs.

  4. evenshine permalink
    November 3, 2008 9:45 am

    Some closeups would work well, like what you do with your children’s hands. Especially the one of your son in the pebbles.

  5. November 3, 2008 12:58 pm

    These are lovely! I kind of like the tic-tac-toe game just the way it is. I suspect if it were taken head on, it would make it more sterile–I’m not sure how to express that feeling best. This looks like a fun project. I might give it a try myself!

  6. November 3, 2008 2:11 pm

    I love black and white photography. I used to have my own darkroom years ago and did a lot of black and white. Some of my daughter’s best wedding photos are black and white. You did a fabulous job. I really like the fifth photo of the slide. There’s a lot of contrast and shadows. Super!!

  7. November 3, 2008 6:09 pm

    I think you have really good instincts for what will work well in b&w – the texture of the wood and the pebbles, the patterns in the squares of the tic-tac-toe and the first and fifth pics…they work really well for me. I love the picture of your son in the pebbles – by far my favorite!

    Part of that is my personal preference to edge towards the more simple, especially with a portrait like this. The slide picture (#5) really worked for me, more than the other pattern pictures, because it was simple enough that the pattern really stood out, and then there is the “surprise” of your son hiding away in there. Adds some nice tension. I really liked that.

    The pics of your daughter have a lot of potential (it looks like a really interesting contraption, and she’s so intent on it!), but they didn’t work as well for me, because there were too many distracting elements. Is there a way you could isolate her and that whatever-it-was more if you were at a different angle or vantage point? I know sometimes it doesn’t work out!

    These are great, really. Keep having fun!

  8. Lofter permalink
    November 3, 2008 7:19 pm

    Absolutely lovely… of course, you know how I love your photography! Wonderful stuff!

  9. November 4, 2008 12:34 pm

    Followed you over from Throwback at Trapper Creek. I love your photography!

    Also love the windmill metaphor and your cute kids. Lovely blog.

  10. November 6, 2008 4:31 am

    Hi, popped over from springtree road. I like the first shot it is amazing what black and white can do for a photo. I don’t think this shot would have much impact in colour. your kids looked like they had a good time.

  11. calpy permalink
    November 6, 2008 9:37 pm

    The first one is my favourite! I wish we had such nice parks here! What we have in most parks here are made of plastic!

  12. November 15, 2008 4:28 pm

    My throat is clamping…you are getting so good. Your eye gets better. A couple of these belong in a contest!

  13. calpy permalink
    November 16, 2008 9:41 am

    Hi again, here’s something similar that I did:

Comments are closed.

