Skip to content

Seriously Spooky

November 1, 2008

The night started with my son taking a nap right when I wanted to help them put on their costumes. I had to put his costume on him while he was still asleep and he didn’t even wake up, even when I flipped him around to zip up the back of his pumpkin shirt.

. . .

trick-or-treat Halloween 2008

taking a nap on Halloween night

. . .

trick-or-treat Halloween 2008

the costume is on, but he's still not ready to wake up

. . .

Then I carried him out to the car and he woke up and looked at his costume. He was excited that we were going trick-or-treating. My mom bought them neon green glow sticks to carry so we activated those after they were buckled into their car seats.  The sun was setting and we saw a tiny sliver of the moon right above the horizon as we drove to the special neighborhood.  By the time I parked the car it was completely dark outside.  We walked across the street with anticipation and went past the barricade of orange cones that keeps cars off that street for a few hours.  Since that particular street is so popular, it is something they do for the sake of keeping everyone safe.  People living there put seriously spooky decorations on their houses and in their yards.  A lot of them have creepy music playing from speakers in the hedges.  The glow sticks were fun and helpful, but even so, the street was very crowded with people and I was nervous about us staying together.

. . .

trick-or-treat Halloween 2008

this skeleton had red lights in his eyes

. . .

trick-or-treat Halloween 2008

my daughter loves cats, even spooky ones

. . .

trick-or-treat Halloween 2008

this house had a spider infestation

. . .

trick-or-treat Halloween 2008

they have candy in their bags and are ready to go home

. . .
This last picture is almost identical to the one from last year that I took of them on the same rock wall.  We had a fun Halloween night.  We were out for a little over an hour trick-or-treating.  When we came home, my husband was talking to his mom and sister (in Lima, Peru) on the webcam, so they got to see our children in their costumes.  I changed all the calendars to November this morning, but I’m still having a hard time believing that it’s true.

6 Comments
  1. November 1, 2008 12:47 pm

    What a cute pumpkin and bunny! And I love how the picture matches last year’s picture. I can’t believe it’s november, either!! WOW!!

  2. November 1, 2008 1:38 pm

    That photo of your son sleeping with his costume on is so cute. Both kids looked great. I didn’t get one trick or treater. I was disappointed. But our creepy dark dirt road doesn’t attract anyone. I’m glad you had a great time.

  3. November 1, 2008 3:15 pm

    i CANNOT believe your son slept the whole time you put his costume on! how cute is that?!

    i love that yellow house with the spiders. what fun!

  4. November 2, 2008 12:21 am

    Thanks, Kristin!

    Thank you, Joan. We didn’t get any tick-or-treaters at our apartment either. Some places just have great reputations and other places are ignored. I’m sorry you were disappointed.

    Maya, my son is such a deep sleeper. He always sleeps through changes in clothes! It’s so nice not to have an easily startled child (since my daughter was/is not like that at all). We liked that house so much. It looked awesome and the man handing out candy was covered in spider webs.

  5. November 2, 2008 5:02 pm

    That made me laugh to see your son sleeping through the clothes changing. Does sound like it would make life easy in some ways!

    They were very cute in their costumes, and it looks like they had a great time.

    I didn’t get any trick or treaters either, but I didn’t expect any, as my front door is an interior door in the condo building, and the only people I know with kids are my upstairs neighbors, who I guess didn’t bother knocking on our doors! The house across the street was all decorated and lit up, and I saw some kids going to their house.

  6. November 5, 2008 7:20 am

    How cool is that house with the spiders??? Your kids are cute as buttons too.

Comments are closed.

