Skip to content

That’s Alright, Mama

October 31, 2008

. . .

. . .

Every parent there had at least one camera.  We all got videos and photos that will get dispersed in various ways; I figure there’s no harm in that.  So, here are the preschoolers singing songs from around the world, under the colorful garlands that they made.

The songs:

  • Hello to all the Children of the World
  • Alouette
  • Waltzing Matilda
  • Mamá, yo quiero
  • Haru ga kita
  • an African song that I don’t know (any guesses?)
  • That’s alright, Mama
  • It’s a Small World

After the children sang, we went outside for a potluck picnic in perfect weather.  It was sunny and in the sixties.  Each family spread out a blanket on the ground.  To represent Peruvian food, I took four avocados, one mango, and lomo saltado with white rice and fried plantains.  My parents were there too.  We tried all kinds of food.  My favorite food of all the choices was Indian curry with saffron basmati rice.

. . .

Peruvian food in picnic basket

. . .
It was all eaten except a portion of the lomo saltado and one slice of avocado that my husband ate for supper while we were out trick-or-treating.
. . .

7 Comments
  1. October 31, 2008 11:20 pm

    mmmm…indian curry. yum.

    question: did you slice the avocado before you went? or after you got there? just wondering about the turning brown factor.

  2. October 31, 2008 11:46 pm

    Maya, we live only 5 minutes away from the school, so I sliced it at home and then it was sealed in the Pyrex dish for about an hour until lunch. It didn’t turn brown, luckily. Lime juice and salt will keep your avocado green if “the crowd” you are serving doesn’t mind the altered taste.

  3. rosiemolinary permalink
    November 1, 2008 4:24 pm

    What a great program! And your food looks fabulous. Especially the lomo saltado and the plantains. I bet all the food was fabulous (especially the curry– that is one of my favorite flavors!).

  4. November 2, 2008 12:12 am

    Thank you, Rosie! There was such an impressive variety. But my son didn’t eat anything except grapes because he was too busy playing in the sandbox.

  5. November 5, 2008 7:22 am

    Waltzing Matilda? Awwwwwwwww.

  6. November 8, 2008 9:27 am

    My kids learned Hello To All The Children of the World in preschool, too! Thanks for bringing back that particular memory to me!

  7. November 10, 2008 2:27 pm

    Blue Milk, I thought you might notice that one! My daughter loves to sing Waltzing Matilda.

    Lisa, you are welcome! Memories from preschool are precious.

Comments are closed.

