Skip to content

International Children’s Day

October 30, 2008

Tomorrow we are going to celebrate International Children’s Day at my daughter’s preschool.  It seems like a good distraction from Halloween, so that they have something else on which to concentrate.  They are encouraged to dress in clothes (not costumes) from around the world.  It is described as a celebration of diversity, and I certainly hope that’s what it ends up being.  We have a sleeveless knit dress from Peru and cotton shorts sets from Japan, but she would be cold.  We may try layering and see if it looks acceptable.  I would love for her to be able to wear a heavy silk kimono, but we don’t have one.

We are going to have an international potluck lunch so I’m going to take some Peruvian food to share.  I might cut up a mango and cut up an avocado for picky eaters who wouldn’t want onions or cilantro in their lunch.  The children are learning songs from all around the world and are going to sing for us tomorrow.  She told me about some of them.

Haru ga kita (“Spring has come,” from Japan)

That’s alright, Mama (by Elvis, from America)

Waltzing Matilda (from Australia)

. . .

japanese bracelet

knit dress from Peru and bracelet from Japan

. . .

I’m looking forward to it!  I don’t know how I feel about posting photos or videos on my blog, since so many other children are involved.  We had to sign a permission form at the beginning of the school year consenting or objecting to other people photographing our children.  I’ll see what the atmosphere is like tomorrow and make my decision then.

4 Comments
  1. October 30, 2008 12:40 pm

    How fun! Maybe you could black out all the kids eyes with those tape strips =;?}

  2. October 30, 2008 12:40 pm

    so you could post the pictures of other people’s kids, I mean – geez, I can’t be sure how coherent I am with a fever.

  3. October 30, 2008 10:07 pm

    I wish Alice’s school did something like that…instead of the same old WOW SO MUCH CANDY! party I will have to sit through.

  4. October 30, 2008 11:28 pm

    My boys can’t wear costumes to school – they bring them as show and tell. Also both schools have a no candy policy. I like your Japanese and Peruvian finds!

    I never post pictures on the blog without permission – especially if they are parents you interact with regularly – could cause waves. Just my 2 cents.

Comments are closed.

