Skip to content

Watch the River Flow

October 29, 2008

. . .

watch the river flow

. . .

Watch the river flow; play a game of Pooh sticks.  This is the kind of mood we’re in lately.  My husband, born in Lima (a city of almost 8 million people), has seen what it’s like out in the country when we visit my parents.  We were walking in the field and he told me that he would like to live out there.  It was a dream my brother and I had to build houses in our parents’ field when we grew up.  We’re still renting an apartment, but when it comes time to buy our first home, we are coming closer to agreeing on what we want.  My husband used to say that we should just buy a townhouse, but I want to have the freedom to garden and would like a rather large yard.  I want to be able to send our children outside to explore, and I’m hoping it could be our property that they explore rather than anyone elses.  Now he has changed his mind about the townhouse and says he does want more privacy and a slower pace: gravel roads and one-lane bridges encourage that!  If we do ever move to the country I would need to get used to not having high-speed internet.  Wah!

Priorities . . . compromises . . . so much to consider.

. . .

8 Comments
  1. evenshine permalink
    October 29, 2008 2:05 pm

    If I grew up in Lima, I’d want green spaces, too! Having lived there for a while, I can see the appeal of simpler things.
    Is that a Peruvian sweater your daughter’s wearing? I think I have the same one (or similar) in pink!
    Cheers!

  2. October 29, 2008 4:11 pm

    Daniel and I want to live in the middle of nowhere in a yurt! (I wanted to make a hyperlink to this website –> http://www.yurts.com <— but I don’t know how so you will just have to copy/paste if you wanna look). We want to have a yurt for us to live in, and one for the kids to live in right next to it. And I want some sort of cool outdoor kitchen/shower. But it will just have to have internet. There are no other options.

  3. October 29, 2008 4:11 pm

    Oh it made a link on its own! How nice!

  4. October 30, 2008 10:51 am

    evenshine, I thought that he would want that big city vibe. He has said that he feels drawn to the country now that his wild side has been tamed by parenthood, though. Yes, my daughter is wearing a Peruvian sweater. She has been wearing it a lot this fall. Thanks for your sweet comment!

    Kristin, how cool. I enjoyed looking at the photos of yurts and I think it looks like a great way to live low-impact. When you make a comment, wordpress will make anything with http:// into a link automatically. It’s nice! I’m always disappointed when blogger doesn’t help me out with links in comments.

  5. Susannah permalink
    October 30, 2008 12:29 pm

    Keep looking…you might be able to find a house that has land and space but still resembles a neighborhood or developed area (with high-speed?!).

    We live in a neighborhood that is considered rural b/c it’s in the County, but we have 2 acres of land. It’s almost perfect (though I wish we had enough room for my horse).

  6. October 31, 2008 11:50 pm

    That sounds great, Susannah! We live in a beautiful area with a lot of choices, fortunately.

  7. November 5, 2008 10:14 pm

    we love Pooh sticks! & recently we began playing “Pooh pinecones”…

  8. November 14, 2008 10:50 am

    Pooh pinecones sounds like a lot of fun! We’ll have to tote some down to the river next time! Thanks for the idea, Goldie.

Comments are closed.

