Skip to content

Halloween Downtown 2008

October 25, 2008

What a chilly, rainy day for trick-or-treating today was.  I wasn’t sure if it was such a good idea to go ahead with our plans.  They had such good memories from last year though, and I didn’t want them to be disappointed.  We slept in late and took our time getting ready.  Then I drove downtown and left the car in the parking garage.  My children’s face paint was a little smeared after about 2 hours of walking downtown without umbrellas, but they kept their spirits up and enjoyed the experience.  I couldn’t take an umbrella because I had to hold their hands, and we were constantly going in and out of the businesses.  I just decided to dress them in warm layers and waterproof shoes because I knew we were going to get wet.  I wore a long coat and tall boots.  I’m glad to report that the pumpkin costume did reappear, since it still fits my son.  It kept him warm and the adorable hat kept the raindrops off his head.  We had talked about dressing him up as an elephant, but he didn’t like my homemade elephant ears so that idea wasn’t going to work.

There wasn’t the same festive atmosphere on the streets this year because of the rain.  There wasn’t any music and the costume contest had to be held inside.  One of the places we went into briefly was the pottery studio where they painted the horse and elephant in July.  Of course they want to go back and ask about it all the time, but it is so expensive.  It is the kind of project we might only do once or twice a year.  We also stopped in the art gallery to do some quick craft projects.  They traced their hands to make wings for bats.

. . .

Halloween Costumes

Before we got wet in the rain

. . .

Halloween Costumes

After we got wet in the rain

. . .

halloween bat craft project

Craft project that uses traced hands for bat wings

. . .

I am so excited that Halloween is on the Friday night before Daylight Savings Time ends.  Last year it hadn’t gotten dark yet when we started trick-or-treating because we had already moved the clocks.  We’re planning on going back to the same great neighborhood.  What are your plans for Halloween?

6 Comments
  1. October 26, 2008 5:42 pm

    The kids look so cute. I don’t get trick or treaters because we live on a dark scary road. So I think I will probably just be home blogging unless my kids come up with a party for me to go to.

  2. October 27, 2008 12:25 pm

    Thanks, Joan. We don’t get any trick or treaters either. We’ll have to see if you get out to a party or if you stay home and blog. Either one sounds fun.

  3. October 27, 2008 8:25 pm

    Your kids are way too cute! i loved the year my son was a pumpkin. And the year my daughter was Princess Leia–or when my hubby, a daughters all dressed as hippies. So fun!

  4. October 28, 2008 11:02 am

    Thank you, Julia. I’ve been trying to remember all of the characters I’ve dressed up as growing up. Princess Leia is a great one!

  5. October 28, 2008 11:59 am

    Secret santa is on this year, and it’s an easy one! Let me know!!

  6. October 29, 2008 11:51 am

    Okay, thanks gr8tful. 🙂

Comments are closed.