Skip to content

SiLLiNeSS! (4)

October 22, 2008

1. We get into the car with Mamá Chabela and the suitcases and my son asks, “Where going?  Farmers’ Market?  Barnes and Noble?”  I respond, “To the airport.”  He asks, “To the airfork?”  “No sweetie,” I say, “to the airport.”  “To the airpork?” he asks.

. . .

on the way to Dulles

. . .

2. He says, “I want my Mickey Glass House” when he wants to drink juice or tea from his Mickey Mouse cup.  He was with me when I bought the Disney set of stamps at the Post Office which features Mickey among other characters.  My sons says, “Look, it’s Mickey Glass House.”  Um . . . okay.  I think he’s confused since we once watched the show Mickey Mouse Clubhouse and somehow he selectively remembers “house” instead of “mouse.”  Each time I ask him, “Do you mean your Mickey Mouse cup?” and he confirms, “Yes, my Mickey Glass House.”

3. I noticed that I constantly say things like, “You need to be careful” and “You need to be gentle” so it comes as no surprise that my son has started saying them to me.  I got out the vacuum cleaner and my son began to gather his small toys in his arms so that they wouldn’t get run over.  He said, “You need to be watchout.”

4. This is photo of a silly nap that he took yesterday.  He is wearing a silly sweatshirt from Japan that says, “Harmonious Personal Relations; Smile Drop; Life With Smile.”  On the front, the sweatshirt says, “Forever with Smiling Face!  I wish you every happiness.”

. . .

life with smile

. . .

5 Comments
  1. October 22, 2008 2:28 pm

    How sweet!! Kids nap in the funniest positions.

  2. October 22, 2008 2:29 pm

    I just want to sca-do and tickle those feet. But that wouldn’t be very nice.

  3. October 22, 2008 2:41 pm

    Randomability, this is the funniest position I’ve ever found him in. His perch looks so precarious and his outfit cracks me up. He wouldn’t even notice if you tickled his feet during a nap. He sleeps very deeply. So, sca-do on over!

  4. October 22, 2008 6:48 pm

    Awww! I love it! Forever with smiling face! I want that shirt.

    Don’t you love when they start using our own words against us? It’s maddening and adorable. Your story at the post office reminded me of when Emma was little and she kept saying forty five while we stood in line at the post office. Everyone kept staring at me like she was rainman and I kept asking her why she was saying that. Forty five forty five fortyfive she kept saying louder and louder. 5 minutes later, we left the PO and as we got into the car, she pointed at the McD’s next door and said Forty Five! I suddenly realized she was trying to say frenchidy fries like I call them. Ugh! My husband said it was my fault for calling it a silly name.

    Love the silly sayings FW!

  5. October 23, 2008 10:44 pm

    Sweet story, Chris. You had me laughing with the way you told it. 😀 You could have put that slogan “Forever with Smiling Face!” on your running shirt. Well, maybe for the next race.

Comments are closed.

