Skip to content

Drinking It All In

October 16, 2008

A woman at Barnes and Noble told me that my children look just like me.  Wow!  I hardly ever hear that from a stranger, so it was nice.  They had a great time listening to two stories about bugs and coloring a ladybug outline with crayons.  Going there is hard because of the Material Things overload.  They want to leave with some new book or toy in their possession.  But the benefit of going there is that the train table is a good place to practice taking turns with other children and staying out of each other’s space.

. . .

train table at bookstore

. . .

train table at bookstore

. . .

When I told my son it was time to go to the parent-teacher conference, he growled very loudly, “YOU MAKE ME CRAZY!” and the mothers who overheard laughed.  “At least he uses his words to express his frustrations,” they said.  And they were right.  It didn’t turn into a tantrum.  He is really easy going and I reminded him that he could be outside on the preschool playground right after a short trip to the bathroom.  He’s going potty in public bathrooms now, so we did that and then drove to my daughter’s school (with nothing new in our possession aside from the coloring pages).

I had a great meeting with her teachers and they showed me some wonderful photos of the activities that she does in her work cycle.  She doesn’t talk much about her work.  When I ask her about her day, she prefers to tell me the goofy things that her classmates say.  It was awesome to see her in action (they had photos stored on a laptop) and hear from her teachers about how she is doing.  We had only 15 minutes together, so we didn’t get to talk about the possibility of me teaching Spanish there.  I will make a separate appointment so that we can dedicate some time to discussing that.

In addition to the mustard seed parable, the image of children drinking from a water fountain also resonated with me today.  On the preschool playground there is a water fountain with a little stool and children can take a drink whenever they like.  Learning to drink out of a fountain without getting water in your nose is quite a big deal to a preschooler!  Here they are drinking it all in.

. . .

water fountain

. . .

water fountain

. . .

water fountain

. . .

6 Comments
  1. October 17, 2008 2:50 am

    Oh my…we absolutely LOVE the Barnes and Noble train table. What better way to draw moms and dads into the store and then give in to the begging for a book. After all, they are educational…

  2. October 17, 2008 11:38 am

    Dana, that is so true. I don’t like denying my children books, so it is good marketing on their part. Welcome to my blog and thanks for commenting!

  3. October 17, 2008 10:13 pm

    We have parent teacher conferences next week, so the kids will have half days at school then. They always set up a huge book fair during those couple of days, and they remind the kids to get their parents to take them there. I always buy mine books. And it raises money for the school. I guess it is a win.

  4. October 18, 2008 10:03 pm

    Saintseester, that sounds nice! I hope you and your children find some great books at the fair next week.

  5. October 20, 2008 6:40 pm

    looks like a good day! you always take such great pictures…

  6. October 22, 2008 2:21 pm

    Thanks Goldie. I’ve learned to put my camera in my purse and take pictures in all kinds of situations. I do it for their benefit so that they can see what they were up to; even if the quality isn’t there, at least there is the quantity.

Comments are closed.

