Skip to content

You Might Be a Redneck If

October 13, 2008

. . . you put this sign up in your yard.  I presume these signs are being distributed (all in good fun) from the Augusta County Republican Headquarters.  They’re not part of the official presidential campaign.  My mom is reading Joe Bageant’s book and encouraged me to look him up online.  I found a blog entry that explains why so many people are not embarrassed to display these yard signs.  Go read it!  (And come back here to comment.)

. . .

yard sign in Augusta County

seen in Augusta County, Virginia

. . .

yard sign in Augusta County

classy, eh?

. . .

And right there Sarah Palin has it both ways. She happily colludes in the media’s need for popular culture kitsch spectacle by embracing what is essentially redneck culture, and at the same time gets to play the persecuted female to her constituency (the least persecuted females in the country, conservative white, heterosexual Christian women). If you think that is ridiculous, go out and count the conservative white, heterosexual Christian women voters in this country.

Joe Bageant, author of Deer Hunting with Jesus: Dispatches from America’s Class War

. . .

15 Comments
  1. October 13, 2008 1:17 pm

    I’d vote for a Clinton Palin ticket any time….two very smart women. Palin talks to the people….the men talk AT them.

    Loved this from the article, “You do not have to be smart to be president, just malleable to the greater forces at work.” It is so sadly true.

  2. October 13, 2008 2:56 pm

    I am not voting for the PRICK. Instead, I have chosen to follow my conscience and the recommendations of my life coach (the adolescent, semi-grown, recently acquired driver’s permit era Jesus) and write in Marvin Martian for president.

  3. Susannah permalink
    October 13, 2008 4:38 pm

    I CAN NOT stand those posters/signs. There are two huge ones near AMC and I see them all the time. Even if I were a fan of Palin (which I’m not), I would still think those were degrading to women.

    Fwiw, my personal opinion!

  4. October 13, 2008 4:51 pm

    I haven’t seen those here in Utah yet. I’m sure they’ll come. 😦

    You’re right– they’re about as classy as my sister’s ex and his coffe can full of pennies.

  5. October 13, 2008 7:07 pm

    Can I vote for Tina Fey instead?

  6. October 14, 2008 9:57 am

    CG, have you seen the political cartoon on Writer Chick’s blog with Palin walking on top of the glass ceiling above Clinton? It’s a good one.

    Johnny, your conscience allows you to vote for a war monger like Marvin Martin?

    Susannah, your opinion is the same as mine! I am surprised at how pervasive they are.

    Kemi, I think they are only in Augusta County. I certainly hope they don’t spread.

    Curious C, yes. Also.

  7. October 17, 2008 9:16 am

    good grief

  8. October 17, 2008 11:40 am

    Westward Bound, uh huh. That’s what I thought.

  9. October 17, 2008 1:25 pm

    The Daily News Leader explains where they came from.

  10. thebeadden permalink
    October 19, 2008 5:26 pm

    This is the first time I have heard about this sign. I guess a new, younger breed are running the show now. I can see it working too! Sad indeed.

  11. Rick Toone permalink
    October 19, 2008 11:22 pm

    Obama’s already won. Read freakonomics: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Freakonomics

    😉

    Ron Paul for President!

  12. October 21, 2008 9:58 pm

    Hey, hope all is well in your land!!!!!!!!!!!!

  13. October 22, 2008 2:39 pm

    The Bead Den, thanks for taking an interest in the yard signs. Where I live there are all kinds of people, but the ones who run the show politically can really come up with some doozies.

    Rick, I keep meaning to read that book. Americans are trained to think that “eight years is enough” no matter who was the president. I guess that’s what you’re referring to in saying that Obama has already won?

    Gr8tful, yes we are all well. Thanks for coming by.

  14. Rick Toone permalink
    October 23, 2008 8:33 am

    Based on the economics, I predict a landslide victory for Obama.

    (note: prediction is not my preferred outcome)

    Freakonomics is quite fascinating. One of the chapters explores the economics of presidential elections and the correlation between fundraising success and winning. Simply put, over the past 40+ years of elections, candidates who raise the most money consistently win.

    Obama raised a record $150 million last month. And, as this excellent post from Campaign for Liberty points out, there is a clear bias on the part of PAC contributors toward Obama: http://www.campaignforliberty.com/blog.php?view=1270

    Citigroup, for example, donated $492,548 to Obama and $287,801 to McCain. It is quite clear who they expect to win. McCain is getting an “insurance” donation to prevent offending the Republicans. Pretty easy to see who they expect to get political favors from.

    Many other interesting chapters in the book. Well worth reading. Despite the preordained outcome, I’ll still be casting my third party vote on election day.

    😉

  15. October 23, 2008 10:52 pm

    Thanks for helping me understand that, Rick. I should really read Freakonomics.

Comments are closed.

