Skip to content

National Forest Photo Series

October 12, 2008

We went hiking with my parents on Sunday afternoon through the George Washington National Forest.  It was a beautiful day with lots of sun.  The biggest acorns I have ever seen were on the ground under the White Oak and Chestnut Oak trees.  Because I am reading the book Last Child in the Woods, and because I remember my own childhood fondly, I am glad to have opportunities like this to take my children into the woods. Here are some photos.

. . .

George Washington National Forest

. . .

George Washington National Forest

Engrish: Be Natural Escape Forest

. . .

George Washington National Forest

. . .

George Washington National Forest

. . .

George Washington National Forest

. . .

4 Comments
  1. October 12, 2008 6:40 pm

    fun! i’m reading that book too.

    though i seem to have a phobia about running into bears in the woods.

  2. October 13, 2008 10:50 am

    You’re reading it too? Awesome! We saw a lot of yellow jackets and learned that bears love to rip up yellow jacket nests and eat their eggs. Weird, right?

  3. October 13, 2008 1:18 pm

    Beautiful place, beautiful people!

  4. October 14, 2008 9:36 am

    Thanks, CG. We were lucky to be invited.

Comments are closed.

