Skip to content

Fall Leaves Photo Series

October 12, 2008

These photos were taken on Saturday afternoon at my parents’ house. I think next weekend, the changes in the leaves will be spectacular. The weather here is so nice. It was sunny and 72 degrees while we were playing in my parents’ yard. We took a short walk down to the river and visited with the neighbor’s cows.

We don’t usually go to their house on Saturdays, but this week there were soccer games on television and my husband wanted us out of the apartment so that he could have some friends over.  I was glad to have a reason to leave!  In the front yard, we found a hickory nut and cracked it open with a hammer.  There were three white maggots inside!  My reaction was, “Oh, I didn’t know they would be inside this nut!  Gross!”  My daughter’s reaction was, “Don’t worry.  We can study them and look at them.  It’s okay, Mom.”  Then I said, “You’re right.  Let’s just watch them wiggle around.”  See why I want to homeschool her?

. . .

fall leaves

. . .

fall leaves

. . .

fall leaves

. . .

fall leaves

. . .

fall leaves

. . .

6 Comments
  1. October 13, 2008 7:17 am

    Those leaves are BEAUTIFUL!!! It looks just as autumn should.

    (I’m a little bitter– our leaves got snowed on this weekend, and the temperature has hovered between 30 and 40 degrees.) 😦

  2. October 13, 2008 10:49 am

    I’m sorry you all are not getting to experience autumn as it should be, Kemi. I understand your bitterness! October is my favorite month, and I can’t imagine how I would feel if it snowed.

  3. October 13, 2008 1:20 pm

    I love October too. Especially when looking at the mountains from a distance, it looks like a bouquet! Perfect pics as always!

  4. October 14, 2008 9:40 am

    CG, I will think of a bouquet next time I look at the mountains. Thanks for that mental image.

  5. October 15, 2008 1:17 am

    Oh gosh you make me miss home! Autumn has always been my favorite time of year. Thanks for bringing a little piece of it to my door this morning!

  6. October 15, 2008 11:10 am

    You’re welcome, Carrie! I hope to get some more photos of the leaves this coming weekend.

Comments are closed.

