Skip to content

An Artistic Milestone

October 4, 2008

Since starting preschool my daughter has seen other children’s drawings and complained that when she tries to draw people she just makes circles with lines coming out.  Because she noticed it on her own (no one that I know of had “corrected” her method), I showed her that our arms and legs don’t come out of our heads like she is used to drawing.  So she resolved to reach the milestone of making a more realistic body with clothes.  She brings home drawings and paintings from preschool that show me how she has learned to draw shirts and pants.  She even puts details like the sun or polkadots on the people’s shirts.  Even though she is learning at school and bringing her artwork home to show me, I am really glad she still has the drive to continue creating artwork at home.  I enjoy being there during the process, not just seeing the results.  Last night she asked me to “hold still” as she made this drawing of me sporting a Ron Paul shirt, a flowered skirt and pajama bottoms.  Ha!

. . .

artistic milestone

. . .

8 Comments
  1. October 4, 2008 3:02 pm

    That is adorable. I love the skirt! 😉

  2. October 4, 2008 5:35 pm

    I love it, FW! Tell her she did an absolutely fantastic job!

  3. October 4, 2008 7:36 pm

    Great drawing! Does she take requests? I’d love one of me and my Obama shirt, wearing some sort of large comfy sweatpants with stars! This picture is definitely a keeper! 🙂

  4. October 4, 2008 9:02 pm

    My son draws his sister and me with our hair straight up because it’s static-y! LOL!! I’ll have to post a picture soon. 🙂

  5. October 5, 2008 9:09 pm

    Thank you, Kemi. Yes, the skirt was a nice touch. I’ll pass your comments on to her.

    Thanks, Chris! I will tell her how much you like it.

    Liza, very sneaky of you to mention your Obama shirt. My mom is active in his campaign, but I just couldn’t get into it. My daughter has made your requested drawing and we will send it to you if you email me your address. 🙂

    Randomability, how funny! I want to see that drawing!!!

  6. October 5, 2008 9:42 pm

    ha ha! That is just soooooo cute! I love that Ron Paul made it into the picture 🙂

  7. October 6, 2008 8:41 am

    So cute!!

  8. October 6, 2008 3:40 pm

    Kristin, but of course Ron Paul made it into the picture. She knows how to make me smile! I will let her know that you commented.

    Brian, thank you. I’ll tell her you like it.

Comments are closed.

