Skip to content

F-F-Friday (14)

October 3, 2008

I had to put the vase down on the chair in order to get the sunlight I wanted for these photos. 😀

. . .

purple eustoma flowers

. . .

purple eustoma flowers

. . .

You know how when you first see that the price of gas has gone up, you feel shocked and reluctant to fill up your tank?  But then you keep seeing that advertised price and it starts to seem reasonable because you’ve gotten used to it?  (Plus you are sure that it will only go up in the coming days and you are thinking, “FUCK!”)  Well, that’s what has happened to me with the price of flowers.  I don’t usually buy flowers because my dad has so many in his garden that he can give me bouquets often.  But since I’ve been going to the Farmers’ Market and paying attention to the prices that people are asking in exchange for their flowers, I’ve gotten used to the $10 and $15 bouquets.

My mother-in-law recommended that I always have fresh flowers on the kitchen table.  She wisely said it gives life to the home and helps the homemaker feel joyous.

These photos are of a gorgeous bouquet of Eustoma from the Farmers’ Market. F-F-Friday is a weekly opportunity, which originated with Saintseester, to share photos of flowers.  I hope you all will have a great Friday!

8 Comments
  1. October 3, 2008 10:43 am

    I should buy fresh flowers more often, but I balk at the cost, too. Every now and then I will treat myself to a big bouquet. Those are really pretty.

  2. October 3, 2008 1:39 pm

    Thanks, saintseester. At first I was thinking how rude to charge so much for flowers that you just pick from your garden, but then I realized that this woman is honoring her passion. She is really good at arranging them in attractive bouquets and I have bought three from her so far.

  3. October 3, 2008 1:56 pm

    That’s a nice variety of purple shades. 🙂

    Side note: our gas prices are finally under $3.40/gal. At least for today anyway.

  4. October 4, 2008 3:35 pm

    Randomability, I saw that today gas in our area is also priced under $3.40/gal. Thanks for the compliment on the flowers. 🙂

  5. October 6, 2008 8:43 am

    Gorgeous flowers! I guess a slightly cheaper alternative would be growing your own, but you’d need a green thumb and lots of time to nurture the plants. It’s easier to just buy them, isn’t it? 😉

    I purchased a huge yellow mum the other day for only $10!

  6. October 7, 2008 10:39 am

    I like the smell of mums, Brian. They are a fantastic flower for fall. We got two small ones at the Farmers’ Market and they filled the car with their delicious smell. I’ll leave the gardening to my dad until we own a house. Then I’ll have to get my act together and start my own garden.

  7. rosiemolinary permalink
    October 7, 2008 2:40 pm

    I’ve never seen Eustomas before. They are gorgeous. Now I have to go see if they might work in my yard. Thanks for the inspiration.

    On another note, a friend of mine who is a professor at Davidson buys herself flowers every Monday to have in her office all week. I bought myself a beautiful vase last year and our farmer’s market has bouquets on the weekend but I haven’t splurged although I bought the vase specifically for that pleasure. I hope to do so this weekend! Thanks for the reminder!

  8. October 8, 2008 8:30 am

    Eustoma would work well in your area. They love the South, and grow in ordinary garden soil. I read that if you want to start them from seed, you should start them indoors this winter. Have fun picking out your bouquet at the Farmers’ Market this weekend! 🙂

Comments are closed.

