Skip to content

Tricky Hospital Photos

October 1, 2008

I took my children back to the construction site of the new hospital to see if I could get better photos than last time.  I wanted to get Massanutten Mountain in the background, but the only angle from which that is possible is out the car window, turning the corner.  Tricky.  Well, every time we go around the corner I am distracted, wondering if the weather is right, if the light is right, if I can get a photo at the right moment.  I don’t quite understand why I am obsessing about it.

The observation deck is where people interested in the new hospital should go to take photos, but they aren’t satisfying from that angle.  My son was asleep in his carseat this time, but my daughter got out with me to check out the limited photo opportunity.  She loves using the camera, and she wanted to go to the observation deck because she saw the photographic evidence that her brother has been there without her.  She doesn’t like when we do special things while she’s at preschool.

. . .

construction site at RMH

. . .

construction site at RMH

. . .

construction site at RMH

. . .

construction site at RMH

. . .

What I fantasize about doing is stopping traffic and getting the shot I want of the new hospital with the mountain in the background, bathed in the warm afternoon sunlight.  How am I going to stop traffic?  (I’m not.)  Getting a good quality photo while the car is in motion is difficult.  But is it impossible?  The last photo is my attempt, but still I think I can do better.

6 Comments
  1. October 1, 2008 2:40 pm

    what kind of camera do you have? a point and shoot or dslr?

    i take pictures out of my moving car all the time. some are better than others. you might have someone drive for you and then you need to have a good bit of light getting into the camera so you can have a fast shutter speed.

    if you want help with that, email me and tell me what kind of camera you have. maybe i can help.

  2. Rick Toone permalink
    October 1, 2008 2:56 pm

    This obsession is really funny. I just can’t stop laughing. It’s so…random.

    🙂

    Go knock on the construction entrance, with two cute kids in tow, and say: “The children would LOVE to see all your construction work up close. Would you give us a tour and let me take some pictures?”

    How could they say no?

  3. October 1, 2008 3:10 pm

    Maya, I have a point and shoot (canon powershot SD550). But who will drive me in my obsessed state? I’m thinking . . . no one.

    Rick, Oh, I googled it and there’s a webcam. LOL. That pretty much takes care of the obsession with the hospital’s construction site. But it’s more about the photograph I envision as I drive around the corner than the construction site itself. It would make a good field trip and there is a visitor’s driveway that leads up to some trailers where I could most definitely score a tour. Thanks for the push!

  4. October 1, 2008 3:56 pm

    Your post somewhat reminded me of something that I’ve been wanting to post!

  5. Rick Toone permalink
    October 1, 2008 10:09 pm

    Don’t forget to bat your eyelashes at the nice construction guys.

    “Sure, Ma’am! Right this way…”

  6. October 2, 2008 4:52 pm

    I think you just need to stop traffic. Bring a sign with you and put it in the road next to your car.. “STOP__OBSESSED PHOTOGRAPHER” People will stop and understand. We all have our obsessions. If they don’t stop, call me. I’ll bring the cane.

Comments are closed.

