Skip to content

Pumpkin Painting Project

September 24, 2008

We went outside this afternoon to paint the pumpkins.  When she started preschool last month, I didn’t know if my daughter would have enough energy to come home and continue to do art projects with me and run around outside.  That’s what she loves to do, though.  They get a nap at preschool, so she usually comes home with plenty of energy.  Painting pumpkins is much better for preschoolers than carving, and the pumpkins will last longer than they would if we cut into them.  Since there is more than a month left before Halloween, we want them to last!

The weather was very nice, although it was a little bit windy.  My son had fun experimenting with throwing dry leaves into the wind.  At first, he was throwing the leaves against the wind and they were blowing right back over his head.  He seemed to study the direction it was blowing so that he could watch them carried forward instead of backward.

. . .

painting pumpkins project

. . .

painting pumpkins project

. . .

painting pumpkins project

. . .

painting pumpkins project

. . .

painting pumpkins project

. . .

One pumpkin is big and one is small because those are the ones they wanted.  I let them choose at the Farmers’ Market on Saturday.  My son thinks his is cute because it’s the baby pumpkin and my daughter thinks she is the best-loved because hers is the biggest.  (You can roll your eyes.  I know I am.)

10 Comments
  1. September 24, 2008 10:21 pm

    looks like a ghost painted on your daughter’s! I think that painting the pumpkins is a great idea. I never liked carving them, I was really grossed out by it, actually! Painting would have been much more my speed.

  2. September 24, 2008 10:49 pm

    beautifully painted pumpkins! i need to do this with my own little pumpkin. 🙂

  3. September 25, 2008 9:00 am

    Wow, you have yourself two great little artists, keep em’ painting 🙂

  4. September 25, 2008 10:32 am

    I certainly wish I had thought of having my kids paint pumpkins when they were young instead of all that messy cutting them up stuff.

    Your kids did a wonderful job painting them and I love that you share photos with us. I miss not having young ones around at the holidays. I wish I could rent a couple.

  5. September 25, 2008 11:51 am

    Great idea for little ones! I’m definitely going to put this project on my list of ideas for the next few weeks.

  6. September 25, 2008 12:12 pm

    Oh, I love this! Now I’m getting an idea for Z’s birthday party in a couple of weeks. I think I’ll pick up some pumpkins and paints and let the kids paint pumpkins. Do you need a special kind of paint?

  7. September 25, 2008 1:01 pm

    Deb, yes, that’s the jack-o-lantern’s face. Painting is something they both love.

    Maya, thanks! I think she’ll enjoy it!

    Book Babie, thank you. My daughter is even learning about painters and imitating them at preschool. Just this week she told me all about Jasper Johns.

    Joan, if I start a rent-a-child business, I’ll let you know. I’ve never even attempted carving. We’ve always painted them.

    Westward Bound, I hope your son enjoys this project. It’s similar to the header you’re currently using on your blog.

    Ann, we used Apple Barrel brand acrylic paint. It easily washes off fingers and clothes. If you are going to display the pumpkin inside, washable paint won’t be a problem, but if they might get wet displayed outside then you’d want to spray a sealant glaze like this one. It sounds like an excellent project for a birthday party!

  8. September 26, 2008 7:26 am

    what fun! you always do such cool activities w your kids! and BEAUTIFUL artwork. tell them – well done!

    oh, but you have NEVER carved? You must try it at least once. It is pretty easy, especially with a kit w the right tools (like a DOLLAR), and there are even cute patterns online.

  9. September 26, 2008 9:58 am

    Ahhhh! That looks like so much fun! They did a really good job. I love hearing kid’s logic. It’s actually very entertaining and gives insight into their little brains. Gotta love that.

  10. September 26, 2008 5:26 pm

    Goldie, thank you! I will try carving someday, maybe this year if you keep prodding me.

    Chris, it was fun, except I was quite annoyed with my daughter when she kept repeating that hers was bigger and hers was the best.

Comments are closed.

