Skip to content

First Time at Sherando Lake

September 22, 2008

My dad camped at Sherando Lake on Friday and Saturday nights with a group of friends from his church.  He invited me and my children to come see the lake and eat supper with them on Saturday.  It was the first time we had ever visited this beautiful spot in the mountains.  It’s easy to find, at exit 96 off Interstate 64.  We got there around 4:30 in the afternoon and it was still sunny enough to wade in the water.

My dad was in charge of cooking supper, so we couldn’t spend more than an hour on the sand.  We headed up to his group’s campsite and relaxed in the hammock.  Both of my children enjoyed that.  We had a good supper, including a delicious fruit salad and smores.  When the sun went down, the temperature dropped and we went home.

I used a camera setting labeled “beach” that gives everyone shiny skin.  I bet it would even disguise cellulite.  😀

. . .

Lake Sherando in September

. . .

Lake Sherando in September

. . .

Lake Sherando in September

. . .

Lake Sherando in September

. . .

Lake Sherando in September

. . .

5 Comments
  1. September 22, 2008 11:09 am

    I love how much time you spend with your parents. It shows what a great relationship you have, which I think is important for them, you and your children. It makes everyone feel connected. 🙂

    We do a lot with my parents, too. I really love living close to them. (Most days.)

  2. September 22, 2008 4:36 pm

    Thanks for commenting, Kemi. I agree with you about the importance of that time together.

  3. September 25, 2008 8:01 am

    Beautiful photographs, I especially liked the one third down.

  4. Susannah permalink
    September 25, 2008 1:24 pm

    Fall and late Spring are my favorite seasons out there. It’s so beautiful when the crowds of summer are gone and it’s quiet enough to hear the birds. We often flyfish the river near the entrance and spend quite a bit of time there in the ‘off season.’

    We also take our dogs out there every now and then and hike the loop trail around the lake. It’s not strenuous at all and is just the right length for a stretch of the legs!

  5. September 26, 2008 5:20 pm

    Thanks, Blue Milk! I think it’s so cool to read your blog and see photos of your daughter with the Australian seasons always being the reverse of the ones we experience. 🙂

    Susannah, I liked that it was quiet when we were there. I definitely want to go back!

Comments are closed.

