Skip to content

Farmers’ Market Habit

September 22, 2008

This summer I’ve been trying to get us in the habit of going to the downtown Farmers’ Market.  It is open on Tuesdays and Saturdays.  I always take our double stroller to help me keep track of where my children are.  Here we are buying pumpkins, flowers, potatoes for soup, and beef liver at the Farmers’ Market, late Saturday morning.  Cheese Slave posted a great recipe for marinating liver in pickled jalapeños and Worcestershire sauce.  I made it twice while my mother-in-law was staying with us, and it got her approval!

I’m going to write up a review of this double stroller soon.

. . .

a trip to the Farmers' Market

. . .

a trip to the Farmers' Market

. . .

a trip to the Farmers' Market

. . .

4 Comments
  1. September 22, 2008 10:11 am

    Haha that is so cute with the pumpkins in the stroller!

  2. September 22, 2008 11:02 am

    Thanks, Ann Marie. Several people at the market commented that the reporters and photographers from the newspaper should have gotten that shot, but I am satisfied with self-publishing. 😀

  3. September 24, 2008 1:55 pm

    LOL That made me laugh with the pumpkin in the stroller! He he. It’s nice that you have a farmers market so close. I don’t know where I would go to find one around my parts. We have local orchards and one local fruit/veggie store but it closes in late fall and doesn’t open again until spring.
    I’m trying to learn how to pick good fruit/veggies but it’s hard to do on your own. Sometimes I just flat out ask my MIL and make myself look like an idiot. That’s ok, she knows me well enough to know I am 😉

  4. September 24, 2008 8:53 pm

    Chris, check to see if your area’s farmers’ market has a website or advertises at the public library. That’s how I found ours. They are going to stay open (the vendors set up tents in a municipal parking lot) until December, every Tuesday and Saturday. It depends on the demand in the area. I know some markets are 7 days a week. I’m glad you liked our pumpkins in the stroller photo!

Comments are closed.

