Skip to content

F-F-Friday (12)

September 19, 2008

. . .

fashion square mall dogwood

. . .

There is a great play area in Fashion Square Mall that focuses on Thomas Jefferson’s role in writing the Declaration of Independence.  It is such a neat idea because the children are gaining confidence and independence while playing.  This dogwood blossom and the path are made of a material that has a little bit of give.  Lots of fun for jumping barefoot.  My son absolutely loved playing there last Friday!

My daughter (who couldn’t go with us on this trip to Charlottesville because she was at preschool) came up with a joke that this photo reminds me of.  My friend Mercedes has already heard this when I contributed to her “Mouths of Babes” page.  I hope you get a chuckle out of it on this Funny Floral Friday!

My daughter gets the National Geographic Kids magazine. The cover for the month of May has baby wolves on it. She asked me how fast I thought baby wolves could run. I told her, “Probably about as fast as a dog would.” And then she asked, “What’s a dogwood?”

I recorded a short video in the play area of Fashion Square Mall because the photos I took don’t reveal how excited the children were or how quickly they were running around the path, climbing up the stack of books and sliding down the Declaration of Independence.  There’s a quill, a pot of ink, a drum, and a slippery bridge. I thought a video would be a better way to show off all that energy!

. . .

. . .

5 Comments
  1. September 19, 2008 9:10 am

    In Japanese dogwood is hanamizuki. I like to change the stress and say it as hanamizu ki, which makes it sound like ‘snot tree’.

  2. September 19, 2008 10:13 am

    Yep, dogwoods sure can run fast.

  3. September 19, 2008 1:00 pm

    Another great joke, Bikkuri. Thanks for that visual. 😀

    Curious C, it’s hard to keep up with them!

  4. September 19, 2008 6:21 pm

    ha ha! What a great take on FFFriday! A dog would – I loved that. kids are so cute.

  5. September 21, 2008 1:15 pm

    Thanks, Saintseester!

Comments are closed.

