Skip to content

Fall Nature Collection

September 18, 2008

My son and I went outside together with a bag so that he could collect some things like acorns and berries that represent fall.  We are going to arrange the collection with the two wooden mice that we bought at the craft fair on Sunday.  This is a collection that my son and daughter are allowed to play with and rearrange as they please.  The idea is to familiarize them with the signs of fall and bring nature into our home.

I hope you enjoy these photos as much as we do.  The sad consequence of our excursion is that my son got five seven bug bites and is really uncomfortable.  He inherited his father’s tendency to attract mosquitoes.  I don’t know why the bugs bite some people much more than others.  Do you?

. . .

collecting signs of fall in nature

. . .

collecting signs of fall in nature

. . .

collecting signs of fall in nature

sensory exploration with moss

. . .

collecting signs of fall in nature

. . .

collecting signs of fall in nature

. . .

collecting signs of fall in nature

. . .

wooden mice from craft fair

. . .

collecting signs of fall in nature

worn out from all those bug bites

. . .

6 Comments
  1. September 18, 2008 2:25 pm

    Most of the acorns around here are still pretty green. Soon the helicopters will fall off the trees.

    Is that Rose hips in the 4th photo?

  2. September 18, 2008 2:37 pm

    I compared our berries to the photos of rose hips on Google, and it looks like they are not. These berries are hard and are all bunched together at the end of the stem. They don’t have a stem for each berry like rose hips seem to have.

  3. September 18, 2008 3:34 pm

    Those photos are precious. I wish I had a little one to do things like that with. Oh well, someday when I am a grandma. When my kids were little we did a lot of nature stuff. It was so much fun to answer their constant non stop questions. Those beautiful little fingers made me smile.

  4. September 18, 2008 10:21 pm

    Thanks, Joan. I like shots of his hands too. I get annoyed with the non-stop questions, but I can usually play along and appreciate that they really do want that interaction and love from me.

  5. September 25, 2008 8:06 am

    Really stunning photos.

  6. October 1, 2008 2:11 pm

    Thanks, blue milk. I love that we are in different hemispheres and have reversed seasons. That makes it really interesting to see photos of what’s going on in your part of the world.

Comments are closed.

