Skip to content

Fall Craft Fair

September 18, 2008

A local community college hosted a craft fair this past weekend.  There were ponies.  Sure, there were other things too, like food and crafts, but the ponies were the best part.

. . .

ponies at the craft fair

. . .

ponies at the craft fair

. . .

ponies at the craft fair

. . .

ponies at the craft fair

. . .

My son and daughter made bottles of layered colored (and very overpriced) sand, we wandered around looking at the crafts, a little distracted by the heat and disheartened by our lack of money, and I was sweet-talked into buying two wooden mice.  The woodworker had his mobile workshop set up in a train car, which really added to the appeal of buying things he handcrafted.  The mice are such fun toys.  I’ve been a quiet onlooker as my children say, “squeak, squeak” playing contentedly together on the floor.

. . .

wooden handcrafted mice

handcrafted wooden mice

. . .

4 Comments
  1. September 19, 2008 10:44 am

    It sounds like those two little mice were a great investment and very cute too!

  2. September 19, 2008 1:05 pm

    Thank you, Randomability! We have a lot of stuffed kittens, so it’s hilarious what sort of story lines they come up with.

  3. Susannah permalink
    September 25, 2008 1:15 pm

    I think I have seen the man that does woodworking in the train car! He makes amazing Christmas ornaments.

    Looks like your children need a pony!! I know your parents have room for one… 🙂

    When they get a little bigger, maybe they can come and ride my horse Guinness.

  4. September 26, 2008 5:17 pm

    Susannah, thanks for the offer to let them ride your horse. They would love it (perhaps 3 years from now?)! My parents do have the room for a pony, but not the will to take care of one. I saw the Christmas trees and ornaments on display in the train car, so it is the same man you’ve seen. 🙂

Comments are closed.

