Skip to content

SiLLiNeSS! (3)

September 13, 2008

1. We are really into dinosaurs lately.  We have a few dinosaur stories in our collection, and we are borrowing dinosaur books from the library.  Also, as part of his potty training, my son chose a six-pack of new underwear with dinosaurs printed on the backsides.  We are learning their names because of the many books and the underwear.  I wanted to see if my daughter could remember “Pterodactyl” because she had remarked before that it was spelled so strangely.  I pointed to it in a book and asked her what it was.  She didn’t remember, but looking at its wings, she guessed that it was a “Flapasaurus”.

2. My son still pronounces dinosaurs in a silly way.  He calls them “dinawhores”.

3. Check out this rendition of Dragostea Din Tei.  In the middle of the song, he looks out the window and says, “Oh, vacas!”

. . .

. . .

4. When we went past the celery in the grocery store, my son emphatically said, “Our work here is done.”

5. My daughter is bilingual in English and Spanish.  She almost always speaks to her papá in Spanish, but of course there are some words she doesn’t know how to say.  For example, she was watching Scooby Doo and wanted to tell him about the werewolf, so she spoke in Spanish and then put a heavy accent on weeerwoooolv to make it sound non-English.  I guess at her age she doesn’t realize faking that kind of accent is derogatory.

A list of family SiLLiNeSS! was something that Titus 2 Woman, Sandi, originally inspired me to write down, and I’m so glad she did.

11 Comments
  1. September 13, 2008 11:09 am

    That video is priceless. I had to look up vacas so I guess he saw some cows. Your son comes out with some good ones. I especially love “Dinawhores”. The “Our work here is done” cracked me up. Family silliness is the best. Your daughter’s “Flapasaurus is a much better name for “Pterodactyl”.

  2. September 13, 2008 2:08 pm

    I love all of these! I used to volunteer at our science museum in the dinosaur and fossils hall. I wish I’d had kids call them dinowhores and flaposaurus!

  3. September 13, 2008 5:35 pm

    This makes me smile and feel sooo good! *THANK YOU!* for sharing! My 2yo Hazel is suddenly into dinosaurs~which is why she likes the “Scooby Doo” movie. Only she calls the movie “Shaggy Shaggy”. ??? (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  4. September 13, 2008 6:35 pm

    Thanks, Joan! Yes “vacas” means that he saw some cows. He shouts “vacas” or “moo cows” every time we drive by a field that might have cows in it. Do you know about the Wonder Pets? That’s where he got the line “Our work here is done” and the association with celery. It cracks me up too!

    Ann, what a great place to volunteer. We really want to go to a museum with dinosaur bones soon!

    Sandi, we watch Scooby Doo daily. Have you watched the movie with actors or was it a cartoon? We haven’t seen the one with real people, only the animated episodes. I’m so glad my post made you feel good! That’s what sharing is about, right?!

  5. September 14, 2008 11:51 pm

    He is so precious! My girls just raved about how cute he is and how well he did, remembering all those words. i am not sure if i mentioned this before, but he reminds me so much of my nephew Noah- his hair, his little babycheeks!

    The ages your children are at now are so much fun! i think my favorite bit of siLLiNeSS is the “weeerwoooolv“.

    i remember Caity calling Eeyore “He-whore”. How we laughed!

  6. September 16, 2008 11:15 am

    I am so impressed with his singing of this song! So cute
    I just found out that Emma has spanish as one of her subjects in Young 5’s. I’m very excited that they are introducing another language so quickly.

  7. September 16, 2008 11:47 am

    I love hearing what the wee ones say. Keep ’em coming.

  8. September 16, 2008 7:44 pm

    I actually knew that he said “oh cow”, lol. what a fun post. we still love dinosaurs here, and will be having a dinosaur bday party in december.

  9. September 16, 2008 11:18 pm

    Dinosaurs rock. It is important that children become acquainted with our Jurassic brethren at an early age. I dunno if you have seen the dinosaur “never forget” shirt before, but I have to own one.

    http://www.bustedtees.com/neverforget

  10. September 17, 2008 2:14 pm

    AHhhh!! I love it!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 What wonderful kids. You are so blessed!

Comments are closed.

