Skip to content

Voting for Nader (again)

September 11, 2008

Well, since I can’t vote for Ron Paul, I think I’m going to vote for Ralph Nader (again).  I voted for him in 2000, when Ani DiFranco endorsed him.  She’s endorsing Obama this year, but I am not.  If your blog is on my blogroll, be assured that I have read what you’ve posted since the conventions.  I haven’t commented, but I have read each of your opinions, and I value them.

Fear not!  I’m not swayed by the Palin factor.  But over the past year I haven’t been swayed by Obama either.  I really wish I could vote for Paul.  But I think voting for Nader is the best thing I can do since he will be on the ballot, and I can live with that on my conscience.

9 Comments
  1. September 11, 2008 5:59 pm

    It’s nice to have a choice that you can live with voting for. Don’t you wish that once you’ve decided who to vote for you could fast forward to election day and skip all the obnoxious ads and sniping and everything else that goes on (from all sides)?

  2. September 11, 2008 9:30 pm

    Thank goodness I’m not the only one not swayed by Palin. On the other hand, I like Obama. As with every election, I can only hope he is good to his word.

  3. September 11, 2008 9:36 pm

    I feel ya FW. Although RP is not on the ballot, you still got the write-in choice. Neither Nader, Baldwin, McKinney, and especially not ex-CIA and War on Drugs proponent Barr are viable candidates for a third party vote grab. Unfortunately, neither was RP (in the statistical grand scheme of things…thanks to the MSM brainwash operation). That being said, a screw the system protest vote is in order. Let em know how you felt and who you supported. Don’t let your vote become an absorbed amalgam for another cat’s agenda.

    By dos pesos anyways Steph. For what it is worth you know.

    Johnny

  4. September 13, 2008 5:21 pm

    My vote’s still up for grabs.

  5. September 13, 2008 6:45 pm

    Ann, I don’t pay any attention to the coverage or ads. Sometimes I hear or see something in passing, but I don’t intentionally follow what goes on. Reading blogs gives me an idea of what people are reacting to, but ever since I lived in Japan I’ve felt really removed from it all. Weird, I’m not in Japan anymore, but I still feel that distance with the news media.

    Sky, I hear you! It’s wise not to pin your hopes on anyone, really.

    Johnny, I could write Paul in. I’m not sure if there is an “other” blank on the Virginia ballot, or how that works. I guess I’ll just go to the polls on election day and see what the ballot looks like and if that would be possible.

    Rick, thanks for chiming in. I was wondering about you, socially liberal fiscally conservative!

  6. September 17, 2008 2:11 pm

    I’m so glad you are sticking to your moral guns and voting 3rd party! I couldn’t possibly bring myself to vote for either obama or mcain. I like Palin a lot, but she isn’t running for president….. sneakly old mcain, trying to get disgruntled hillary and paul supporters at the same time!

    I kept saying I would vote for Nader, since Ron Paul is out… But I think now my hubby and I will be voting for Baldwin. *SIGH*

  7. September 17, 2008 2:12 pm

    Oh btw, my hubby saw your blog and asked my why I don’t have the green ron paul picture and the campaign for libertry pic on my blog! 🙂

  8. September 18, 2008 2:27 pm

    Hi Kristin (and Daniel, looking over her shoulder)! If blogger does text widgets the same way wordpress does then it should be easy to explain to you how to get the sidebar badges. Let me know if you want them and I’ll email you the code. 🙂

  9. Rick Toone permalink
    September 19, 2008 3:31 pm

    I’m still alive. Was just transported to another dimension for a while. Returned to discover I have to go through the “research candidates” process all over again. Ugh.

    (ugh)

    Maybe I’ll just get a Ron Paul tattoo…and stay home in November.

    😉

Comments are closed.

