Skip to content

Our renewed shirts

September 9, 2008

Recently I shared the photos of the leftover fabric scraps I have been sewing onto shirts.  Here is a more detailed photo of us wearing the finished projects.  My daughter has been wearing this red shirt for more than two years.  This month marks the last chance she has to wear it before she outgrows it.  At least we will have a pretty hand-me-down for someone else.  I like my owl shirt, but as I thought it would, the ribbon I used for the beak is fraying and I will have to think of another way to represent the beak.  I’ll cut those stitches, toss the ribbon and make a fabric beak to sew on later.

I miss being in touch with my blogging friends.  I feel like I have no time to sit at the computer anymore.  But I am having a nice time with my mother-in-law, and I’ve been reading some great books that I will tell you about later.

. . .

our renewed shirts

. . .

9 Comments
  1. September 9, 2008 3:08 pm

    It’s a gorgeous shirt. I wish I had the talent to do something like that. We miss you, too, but I totally understand not having the time, especially with family visitors (that was us a couple of weeks ago with my parents, grandmother and Chris’s sister all in town the same week).

  2. September 9, 2008 4:57 pm

    Have you tried something called Fray Check? I think they still make it. That might help keep the fraying at bay.

  3. September 9, 2008 9:54 pm

    I’ve been so impressed with the various projects you’ve been doing, but I think this one takes the cake! They turned out gorgeous, which is something in and of itself, but just to come up with the idea of them! I don’t have these talents!

    It is really cool. And the creative things you’ve been doing with the kids too…all in all, very impressive!

    Not to mention totally awesome from the environmental aspect – reducing and reusing all in a couple of t-shirts. Way to go!

  4. September 10, 2008 12:13 am

    Wow. you are very creative! I love the shirts!

  5. September 10, 2008 11:48 am

    I’m excited to hear about the books you’re reading! 🙂

  6. September 12, 2008 10:18 am

    I feel the same way FW! What is with us actually living life and NOT blogging about it? Agh! What’s going on? I keep telling myself that I’ll find a happy medium in this ‘new’ scheduled life that I can deal with. Keep having fun and we’ll catch up later!

    The shirts are way awesome and it makes me jealous that I am neither crafty (in that sense) or sew. I can put a button back on my shirt or sew up a whole but that’s about it.

    When you get a chance, you need to let us know how life is when your daughter is at school and how she is loving it.

  7. September 14, 2008 12:38 am

    Your daughter is adorable and those T-shirts are amazing. What a great idea.

  8. September 17, 2008 10:01 pm

    What great shirts…might have to try doing this soon. Adding it to my list along with freezer paper stencils which I have been wanting to do for a long time. Thanks for the inspiration!

  9. September 19, 2008 2:23 pm

    I replaced the owl’s brown ribbon beak with a red fabric (the same one with white dots that you can see on the bird’s wing). It coordinates better now and won’t fray. Thanks for your compliments, everyone. I’m glad you like the shirts. If I make an applique shirt for my son it will probably be a cement mixer or a moo cow. Hmmmm . . . thinking about that now.

Comments are closed.

