Skip to content

Potty Like a Rock Star

August 25, 2008

My son is doing so well with potty training! Frankly, I am amazed. He has been consistent for a few days now and he’s been staying dry all night for quite a while. When we go out on errands or to the park or wherever, he wears a diaper. He is not quite ready for public toilets. When we went to dinner and the county fair, he came home with a dry diaper. I put him and his sister into the bathtub as soon as we got home. A few minutes later he climbed out of the water, went to the potty and then climbed back into the water. It seems to me like he has a lot of control for being two and a half years old.

I’m placing the little potty in the living room or sometimes in the hall. It’s so much easier for him not to have to remember to go into the bathroom. He can’t reach that bathroom light switch anyway. It just makes me a little bit jittery as he carries the potty receptacle to the toilet to flush it. I catch myself saying, “Don’t spill! Be careful!” He’s just hanging out in a shirt and going bottomless for now.

A few months ago, I decided to buy him the box of size 3 diapers since size 4 was really bigger than he needed. It was a way to get more diapers for the same amount of money (something like 104 per box instead of 92). It looks like soon we won’t need to buy boxes of diapers at all. He is reusing the same diaper all day, taking it off to use the potty. If it’s clean, I just put it right back on him. My daughter did the same thing, asking for a diaper when it was time to poop, but being willing to pee in the potty. That means just one or two diapers per day! Yay!

10 Comments
  1. August 25, 2008 3:04 pm

    Lucky Mom. I wish my son would take such an interest, but so far no luck. He does love to tease me about it, though.
    “Mom, gotta go potty. Hurry, Mama!” (We run; he stops, grins and says, “Just kidding!”)

  2. August 25, 2008 4:19 pm

    I second Kemi… I wish baby Girl would show more interest. She sits for 15 seconds and says she is done. She’ll be 3 at the end of next month. ~sigh~

    Now only if Little Man would be dry during the night too. He’s still wearing pull-ups at night. Store brand though, so that saves a teeny bit of money. The mornings that he is dry, we do re-use. When he was at Nana & Papa’s, she threw them away. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr…

    Tangent alert: They also use a ton of paper towels and cups. They don’t use one cup throughout the day; they use, then toss. They don’t recycle either because it’s inconvenient.

  3. August 25, 2008 7:19 pm

    Congrats!

    With my two children I took a different approach, some might think I am mean but oh well… I just took the diapers away. Made them go “cold turkey” (night and day). They ran around the house either bottomless or in undies. For a month I had the portable potty carried around everywhere we went and then moved to the adult potty (with a potty seat on it). They got spankings for accidents and my daughter got stickers for a reward and my son got skittles. My daughter only had 1 poop accident and about 4 pee ones. My son had about 10 poop ones and about 7 pee ones.

    My daughter was potty trained by 30 months (2 months of training) and my son was trained by 25 months (1 month of training).

    I heard that boys were harder to train so I started training him the week after he turned two.

    What do you think since you also have one of each?

  4. August 26, 2008 7:06 am

    Oh, how well I remember the giddy excitement of potty training!!

  5. August 26, 2008 11:02 am

    Good job! I think it took me awhile to learn. Oops… did I just write that in a medium where billions of people can read it?

    Got caught up on your blog today. I’ve been busy with special summer seminars and stealing time to be with my new girlfriend. She is taking care of special children 24×7, so I have to be ready to jump when she gets free time.

    I liked your fuzzy flowers, frogs, turtles, bean bags, and romanticish fair visit.

  6. August 27, 2008 10:51 am

    Holy cow. My 2yr old (+2 months) wears size FIVE diapers right now. I make giant children, I suppose. I’m hoping we don’t move into size 6 before he shows more interest in potty training. I’m just not pushing it for now since we’ve got so much change on the approach with the new brother on his way.
    Congrats for what seems like a fairly simple transition in your household! I wonder if it’s easier with the second child…?

  7. August 27, 2008 6:59 pm

    I thought my son was big wearing size 6 before potty training until I saw the 12 month old I was watching was wearing a size 5. I was like OH WOW

  8. August 28, 2008 4:24 pm

    Now he really is a rock start on the potty, choosing to poop there too! I am thrilled and so is he.

    My daughter was trained at 24 months, after having practiced for about 6 months. We told her when her brother was born that we weren’t buying any diapers for her anymore. She was in size 5 at the time.

    My son is 30 months old and decided on his own to try the potty. He weighs 28 pounds. According the box of White Cloud diapers, size 3 still should fit a 28 pound toddler. Size 4 goes from 24 pounds to 30 something. So when he was 24 pounds or so I bought size 4 and then when I realized that the size 3 were still fine, I knew that more diapers for the same amount of money was a better decision for us. He was hooking his finger in the bottom of his diaper and moving it aside to pee on the carpet. He got spanked for doing that, and I told him if he wanted to watch his pee come out he had better do it in the potty. So that’s what he decided to do. I didn’t need to give him any rewards, other than letting him flush the toilet. 😀 In his excitement of this new privilege, he did flush a pair of his sister’s socks and he tried to flush orange peels, too!

    I heard that boys took longer to train so I just didn’t put any pressure on him, aside from spanking him when he went on the carpet.

  9. September 6, 2008 10:42 am

    My son is in size 6(!!) diapers and 3T/4T pull-ups. He’s 4 in October, and is only just now potty training. We’ve been working with him on it for 2 (!!) years! He’ll be interested, then resistant, the interested, then resistant…

    The key for him was starting preschool. He loves the TA, and will do anything for her. Apparently, this includes the potty – yay Miss Morales!!!!! He’s used it consistently at school all week (not as much at home), and next week he’s going to school in underwear. We’re packing a lot of extra clothes. This morning when I changed him, he even said he wanted pants on, so no one could see his pull-up. Awwww…..

  10. September 6, 2008 11:31 pm

    Yes, Princess Edamame! Preschool is awesome like that. My son realized that his sister had started preschool and he began potty training, like he somehow knew it was related to independence. Good for your son!

Comments are closed.

