Skip to content

F-F-Friday (8)

August 22, 2008

This flower is called Cock’s Comb. It was for sale at the farmers’ market on Saturday, and my daughter really liked it. We had never seen this strange fuzzy flower before. I bought them with the justification that we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. Seven stalks cost me three dollars! Expensive fucking flowers!

. . .

crested cock's comb

. . .

Check out Saintseester, the founding mother of F-F-Fridays, and Randomability who encouraged me to participate. I hope you’re all having a fine floral Friday.

. . .

7 Comments
  1. August 22, 2008 9:21 am

    Those are absolutely gorgeous. I love that color, too. A little Dr. Seussish with the fuzz,which is cute.

  2. August 22, 2008 9:45 am

    Saintseester, thanks! You are right about that! Dr. Seuss may have used these as inspiration for some of his drawings.

  3. August 22, 2008 1:15 pm

    Yeah, but it was worth the seven bucks, I think; that’s some odd bit of floral fabulousness you’ve got there.

  4. August 22, 2008 2:10 pm

    Very fuzzy. I can almost feel them now.

  5. August 22, 2008 2:11 pm

    Mrs. Chili, if they had cost seven dollars I wouldn’t have bought them! They were really fabulous for a week, but then they dropped their seeds. That was a mess.

    Randomability, imagine fuzzy, but stiff. Very odd.

  6. August 25, 2008 6:08 pm

    Those are beaaaautimous…

  7. August 26, 2008 4:21 pm

    Thanks, unbeelievable. Welcome back!

Comments are closed.

