Skip to content

There she goes

August 20, 2008

Today and tomorrow my daughter has two hour orientation sessions at preschool. She woke up at 3:45 am and didn’t fall asleep again until around 6:00 am. I don’t know if it’s nerves or if something else is going on. She has always had poor sleep habits. We are still not putting them to bed early enough.

She starts full day preschool (8:30-3:30) on Monday. This is a photo of my son and daughter walking ahead of me, down a country road.

. . .

walking down a country road

. . .

10 Comments
  1. August 20, 2008 8:51 am

    What a great picture. He’s walking confidently? or is he keeping an eye on how far ahead big sis is getting to be. Have fun with the start of school. I love back to school time and it’s my excuse to buy kids clothes for all the N&Ns (nieces & nephews) Even though one is only 6 months old. Can’t have him be left out of the gift getting.

  2. August 20, 2008 11:29 am

    Very cute picture. It looks like she can’t WAIT to start school.

    It reminds me of my daughter, who will start third grade on Monday. (Yikes!) On her first day of Kindergarten, while other kids were clinging to their moms and shuffling nervously in line, she marched to her place, turned around and waved, and yelled, “I’m okay. You can go now. Bye! Moooom, goodBYE!”

  3. August 20, 2008 10:08 pm

    Today was Little Man’s first 30 minute day of Kindergarten. We had a fun day, will blog about it soon. Tomorrow is his first full day and he rides the bus!

  4. August 21, 2008 7:19 pm

    How did the orientations go? And how does it feel for you, to see her go off to school?

  5. August 22, 2008 9:31 am

    Curious C, that’s so cool that you buy your nieces and nephews new school clothes. What a great aunt you must be! In the photo, my daughter is acting like the leader of a marching band. She picked up a stick to use as a baton and everything. I think my son is trying to get to the bridge to throw pebbles in the river, but he wasn’t too upset that his sister would get there first. He’s fairly laid back.

    Kemi, my daughter has been really good about drop offs at orientation. Since we waited to start preschool until she was four and a half, she is really ready. Some other children there are as young as two and a half!

    Randomability, 30 minutes? That seems like it would be frustrating, but I’ll definitely be reading your blog to find out more.

    Deb, they went really well. I like that she’s learning about interacting with children she will be getting to know this year. It feels good for both of us. Yesterday I picked her up and we had lunch at home. Then we went to the library for an hour. When we got back from the library she took a long nap of her own volition. It made me think that she was learning a lot and needed the down time to process it all. I also love having a schedule and having to leave the apartment. It makes me get more done and use my time better.

  6. August 22, 2008 1:59 pm

    It was more of an orientation and a scavenger hunt. The scavenger hunt was to put the supplies away. We kept busy the rest of the day as we had roofers here tearing off the shingles, so we kept out of the way and away from the loud noise. I did blog about it with F F Friday. Just click “more” and you’ll read about our day.

  7. August 22, 2008 2:13 pm

    You all had a full day of fun! I’m impressed with how much you did in one day.

  8. rosiemolinary permalink
    August 25, 2008 10:58 pm

    That pictures is just beautiful and says so much. Can’t wait to hear how school went.

  9. August 26, 2008 4:29 pm

    Thanks, Rosie. My daughter is doing well in school, but there are a lot of new expectations to get used to. Today she did much better, eating all of her lunch and remembering to drink lots of water. Yesterday was hard because when I picked her up she had a headache from dehydration.

  10. rosiemolinary permalink
    August 26, 2008 10:53 pm

    You were so smart to hone in on what caused her headache! She’s going to gain so much confidence about her ability to take care of herself in the coming weeks. I look forward to hearing more.

Comments are closed.

