Skip to content

Una Noche Romántica

August 17, 2008

So, do you consider going to the County Fair romantic? I mean, of course it would be if you were in high school and full of hormones. But is it romantic on your 6th wedding anniversary? Or perhaps on your 39th wedding anniversary? (We share the same date as my parents, August 16th.) Is it romantic if you take your children (grandchildren) along with you?

How about dinner at the local Thai restaurant beforehand? That’s romantic, right? I mean, of course it would be if your children weren’t disappointed when they saw the food. (The grown-ups thought the food was excellent, but whiny children with tears welling in their eyes are not so romantic.)

. . .

county fair

. . .

county fair

. . .

county fair

. . .

county fair

. . .

county fair

. . .

county fair

. . .

It was an anniversary where we all had to sacrifice romanticism for the sake of having a great time together. 🙂

. . .

12 Comments
  1. August 17, 2008 10:01 pm

    If we had been married at the end of summer, I know that every year our anniversary date would be the fair. I love the fair, Chris loves the fair, who cares about the romance, that’s what bottles of wine, candles and early bedtimes for the kids are for. It sounds like a great time. Happy Anniversary!!

  2. August 17, 2008 10:40 pm

    It looks like you had fun.

    Happy Anniversary!!! 🙂

  3. August 18, 2008 7:25 am

    You know what I’ve learned after 17 years together (12 of them married)? Romanticism is highly overrated. It’s the everyday stuff that counts, and it seems you’ve got that. (though, having said that, I’d have to say that candy apples can be pretty romantic; at least, I think so…)

  4. August 18, 2008 8:44 am

    Sounds fun to me. Happy Wedded Bliss.

  5. August 18, 2008 10:04 am

    Seems early for a county fair but looks like you had a great time. We just celebrated 35 years marriage August 11th. Wish I could tell you what the secret is but I still don’t know how it works or what keeps it together. I just take one day at a time. Also celebrated my mom’s 93rd bday 8/10

  6. August 18, 2008 7:15 pm

    I LOVE county fairs. But maybe not on my anniversary. Your final statement actually made my throat tighten because it is simple yet profoundly symbolic of the true meaning of marriage. I am so pleased you had a “great time together”!!!

  7. August 18, 2008 7:16 pm

    P.S. Happy anniversary to you AND your parents! 🙂

  8. August 18, 2008 11:15 pm

    Happy Anniversary to you and yours and your parents!
    I couldn’t think of a better way than that to spend it!

  9. rosiemolinary permalink
    August 19, 2008 3:49 pm

    A county fair and Thai food? That’s a perfect celebration. Happy anniversary!

  10. August 19, 2008 7:23 pm

    OF COURSE the fair is romantic~LOL! I LOVE the fair~it falls around my birthday, so I have fond memories of the fair about every other year growing up. I would SO go on my anniversary or any other holiday and HAVE A BALL! LOL! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  11. August 20, 2008 7:42 am

    Thanks for the awesome comments and well wishes, everybody!

  12. August 23, 2008 4:34 am

    Congratulations! And I like the last line, ditto for us.

Comments are closed.

