Skip to content

F-F-Friday (7)

August 15, 2008

This week, I present to you a field of sunflowers at the neighbor’s place. She set up bird houses throughout the field, but all we saw were bumble bees. Maybe the birds will come once the sunflowers go to seed.

. . .

a field of sunflowers

. . .

a field of sunflowers

. . .

a field of sunflowers

. . .

a field of sunflowers

. . .

This is what happened when my son said, “No, I can do it. I want to do it,” and took the camera away from me. There are five similar ones saved in the “August 2008” photo file on our computer. My motherliness won’t let me delete them. And anyway, I tell myself what he documented is neat since he kept commenting about “lotsa hay” on the ground.

. . .

a field of sunflowers

. . .

Then again he could have potential as a photographer because he also took this one below. There were scary storm clouds rolling across the sky when we were out in the field. The dark clouds contrast magically with the bright yellow flowers.

. . .

a field of sunflowers

. . .

Saintseester hosts F-F-Friday every week. Won’t you join us before the summer ends? I hope you’re having a fabulous floral Friday!

. . .

12 Comments
  1. August 15, 2008 10:03 am

    sunflowers have to be one of my favourite flowers. your pictures are beautiful! how wonderful to have a field like that nearby 🙂

  2. August 15, 2008 11:35 am

    I have never seen a field of sunflowers in real life. And your son’s photo with the stormy clouds in it is nice and dramatic.

  3. August 15, 2008 12:23 pm

    He did pretty well.

    i like the fields of sunflower pics. So pretty they are, before they bow beneath winter’s ways. Even then, there is something stark and lovely about the acquiescence in their bent, withered sunflower stalks.

  4. August 15, 2008 6:52 pm

    I think next year we are going to pull up the ornamental grass and plant sunflower seeds. I can’t wait!

  5. August 15, 2008 11:13 pm

    Heather, when we first saw them growing in the field, we thought they were thistles. Then we were so surprised when they turned out to be sunflowers. I was in awe as I drove up to my parents’ house and could see their neighbor’s field.

    Saintseester, I hadn’t seen a field of sunflowers either, until last Sunday. Thanks for the comment about my son’s photo.

    c, thank you! I’ll have to see what I see when they start to wither. It’s all new to me.

    Randomability, that will be nice! But, I like ornamental grass too. Are you trying to attract birds?

  6. August 15, 2008 11:13 pm

    I love sunflower fields, your pictures are, as always, fantastic. We have one sunflower this year – I didn’t plant it, it’s growing out of our compost pile, I just couldn’t bring myself to pull it out.

  7. August 16, 2008 8:45 am

    Sunflowers are my favorite! These are beautiful pictures! I see your son is a future photographer as well-hehe! Jedd’s parents have sunflowers in their garden.

  8. August 16, 2008 12:18 pm

    Ann, that’s amazing that a sunflower came up on its own in your compost pile. I’m glad you like my pictures.

    Mere, I know you love yellow flowers. I see sunflowers in a lot of local gardens. They are beautiful.

  9. August 16, 2008 3:06 pm

    Those are beautiful photos from both you and your son. I love sunflowers. I’ll be curious what happens when they go to seed. I imagine there will be a lot of birds. Let us know. I don’t think I have ever seen a field that big filled with sunflowers. Beautiful!!

  10. August 16, 2008 3:08 pm

    Thanks, Joan! I will let you know what happens this fall.

  11. August 18, 2008 11:43 am

    I just like sunflowers! We have several packets of seeds, but I haven’t had a place to plant them.

  12. August 19, 2008 10:36 am

    Great, Randomability. Then I hope they thrive in the spot you’ve chosen for next year!

Comments are closed.

