Skip to content

On the Seventh Day

August 11, 2008

Sundays are for visiting grandparents. Moo cows have to be watered. The watermelon’s progress has to be duly noted. Worm cakes have to be made. Butterflies have to be chased down the road. Bare feet have to touch the earth.

My son held the hose to fill the watering troughs for the cows. He coaxed, “Come on moo cows. Don’t be afraid.” After that “chore” my dad and I took my son for a walk to the neighbor’s sunflower field. I’m saving more of those photographs for this week’s F-F-Friday. When we got back from our walk and I showed my daughter the photos she lamented, “Awwww. I should have gone with you guys.” So, we’ll be going back next Sunday. I appreciate having the chance to visit my parents and play outside on the farm every seventh day.

. . .

watering cows

. . .

watering cows

. . .

a storm is brewing

. . .

checking out the watermelon

. . .

watering can

. . .

watering can

. . .

. . .

15 Comments
  1. August 11, 2008 10:32 am

    How precious! You know those posters with the two little boys in overalls that say “Been farmin’ long?” The first two photos make me want to say that! He looks so serious about his work.

  2. August 11, 2008 1:17 pm

    You have some gorgeous children, there. I miss the little overalls; my girls have long since lost that chubby-baby look…

  3. August 11, 2008 2:59 pm

    How fun! i love the picture of your Dad and son amidst the sunflowers.
    Your children are so lucky to grow up in the country, surrounded by nature.

    i love how little sir kind of panicked over his dirty hands. And how carefully your daughter dug and watered. When i see your children, i miss that little time with my girls- when every thing is new! wondrous! a discovery!

    These things continue, but it takes more to blow their minds now because they’re older. What i enjoy now are their thoughts, opinions and questions. i guess it’s my turn to get my mind blown. 🙂

  4. August 11, 2008 10:21 pm

    This is a life-affirming post. LOVE the pics. You might want to submit that photo of child with grandfather among sunflowers. to some photo contest somewhere. DO FRAME IT!?

  5. August 11, 2008 11:53 pm

    Thanks for sharing a slice of your life with us. I enjoyed it immensely. Beautiful!

  6. August 12, 2008 10:15 am

    Very sweet. I love the picture of Grandpa & Grandson in the sunflowers too.

    We also go over to my in-laws every Sunday for family dinner. It’s been a tradition since my daughter was born (5years ago) and now my brother in law takes part too with his son & wife. It’s nice to have a consistent time where you all can come together and share.

    You’re making wonderful memories for your children every week!

  7. Lofter permalink
    August 12, 2008 6:05 pm

    Now that’s what I, especially speaking as a grandfather, call absolutely priceless! Great stuff! Better than treasure! 😀

  8. August 13, 2008 10:02 am

    Rebecca, I think I’ve seen that “been farmin’ long?” image before. So cute! He did take the task of watering the cows very seriously and was disappointed that the cows wouldn’t come closer.

    Thanks, Mrs Chili. The overalls are really fun. The buttons say Cutecumber. My dad bought them for us.

    c, I love that they spend time in the country. That’s a big reason that I wanted to live here instead of Japan. I fuss over dirty sticky hands when we are in our apartment trying to maintain a level of cleanliness. My son needed permission to get dirty!

    Curious C, that’s such a nice way of phrasing it! Life affirming. Thanks!

    teeveebee, I’m glad that you enjoyed what I shared here! Thank you for commenting.

    Chris, that’s a great tradition. Everyone benefits greatly from the consistent family time.

    Lofter, it’s nice to hear your grandfatherly perspective. 😀 Thank you!

  9. August 13, 2008 12:01 pm

    I especially love the picture of your son with your Dad. What a treasure! Makes me want to come out and play one Sunday. How fun.

  10. August 13, 2008 3:09 pm

    Goldie, in case you’re not kidding I want you to know that you are welcome to come out and play with us. Thanks for your friendship!

  11. rufous permalink
    August 14, 2008 8:21 pm

    Wow, how cool! I have been reading about raw whole milk being very nutricious. Do your parents have milk cows?

  12. August 14, 2008 9:33 pm

    well thank you very much, I may just have to do that! 🙂

    Rufous! Hey! *waving wildly*

  13. August 15, 2008 12:33 pm

    Hey Rufous. These cows will be sold by the pound at the stock yard this fall. I don’t know if my dad has ever milked a dairy cow when he was younger, but he hasn’t ever had a dairy cow since I was born. Are you thinking about switching to raw milk? I’ve also read great things about it from Cheese Slave (on my blogroll). She lives in California and often blogs about raw milk.

    Goldie, please do and bring the boys!

  14. August 16, 2008 8:47 am

    I love how you give your children so many experiences in the world! Some children have never been to a farm and know nothing about it. If you have decided to home school-you are going to be great!

  15. August 16, 2008 12:20 pm

    Thank you, Mercedes. It would be a definite advantage to have access to farms as a homeschooling family. We haven’t made that decision yet. My daughter is going to start Montessori preschool in a week. Then we are going to see what’s best for us, depending on how she responds.

Comments are closed.

