Skip to content

Lunch Box Habits

August 8, 2008

Back in April I wrote about the anticipation of assembling the proper pieces of my daughter’s preschool lunch box and gathering ideas for food that she will like. Well, today the UPS truck brought us the stainless steel boxes that my friend Susannah suggested in the comments section. At $4.50 each they were a great solution, so I bought three. They are easy to open and close, and easy to clean.

On J-List I am finding lots of fun lunch box accessories. It is addictive to shop there. For example, silicon muffin cups which serve as separators, little plastic picks which hold layered sandwiches together, and star and heart rice shapers. I got her a Hello Kitty fork, spoon and chopsticks set. We also found the perfect cloth napkins on Etsy. My daughter chose them because they have her favorite colors: pink and blue and red and green. I got her small blocks of Blue Ice to keep everything cool (the stainless steel box goes inside an insulated lunch box). The cost of “setting up” her lunch box is fairly high at the beginning, but I figure I’m not going to buy brown bags or plastic sandwich bags or paper napkins all year, so maybe it will even out. I hope she’ll take care of these things so that she can use them a long time.

Today we had a trial run picnic lunch on the living room floor. We used the cloth napkins and the stainless steel boxes. The accessories from J-List haven’t arrived yet, so we made do with what we have so far. I served them cheddar cheese, watermelon, tomato sandwiches (cut into heart shapes), and cucumber. My daughter ate everything and then asked for another sandwich. My son didn’t want the cucumber, but he asked for more cheese.

Sorry these photos are dark, but I don’t like our camera’s flash.

. . .

cloth napkins and stainless steel lunch boxes

. . .

cloth napkins and stainless steel lunch boxes

. . .

cloth napkins and stainless steel lunch boxes

. . .

cloth napkins and stainless steel lunch boxes

. . .

cloth napkins and stainless steel lunch boxes

. . .

8 Comments
  1. August 8, 2008 9:59 pm

    I love the green furoshiki. You shouldn’t serve your son cucumbers; you should give him “green cookies”. That’s what we called cukes for my oldest niece and she fell in love with them. 🙂

  2. August 9, 2008 8:27 am

    Good call, Bikkuri. I will tell him they are cookies and see. I made zucchini bread, and he wouldn’t eat it until I called it “cake”. Then he liked it.

  3. August 9, 2008 10:39 am

    I really like this one! I think the one I loved the look of was called the vegan lunchbox? Only it was WAY expensive… I like the look of those Wrap’n Mats too… I wonder if’n I could make my own by sewing two pieces of vinyl tablecloth together with velcro? (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  4. August 9, 2008 11:08 am

    Sandi, I didn’t know what a Wrap’n Mat was so I looked them up. Those look very simple to make and fun to use! That would be cool to make some for your family from a vinyl tablecloth.

  5. August 9, 2008 8:52 pm

    I’m fascinated by lunch boxes for some reason. And I was just looking at the wrap’n mats at the store today. At least I think that is what they were called. I was really interested in them because I’m always trying to figure out ways to reduce the few disposable things I still use. Sometimes wraps, baggies, or aluminum foil confound me in finding alternatives. anyway, the wrap’n mats looked pretty neat.

    I’ve been having to pack more food for lunch lately because of the bike commuting. It has been a challenge to figure out what my body needs between 14 mile rides. It has also been a challenge to make sure I have what I need at home and ready to bring with me to work. I’m just not good at thinking much ahead! I would have to work really hard at being prepared for making kids their lunches for school.

    I think it is so neat that you are doing all this research and prep ahead of time. it is like an adventure. I wonder if your daughter will look back years down the road and recognize how special you made it for her? Having her choose the napkins, and doing the trial run, etc.

    You’re a good mom!

  6. August 10, 2008 7:58 am

    sooooooooooooooooooooo gorgeous, love your picnic.

  7. Susannah permalink
    August 11, 2008 12:24 pm

    YEAH! I’m so glad you got the stainless boxes. I’ve been very impressed with mine and now I will think of your children every time I pack my own lunch.

    (Only, no one will make me heart-shaped sandwiches or leave cute notes inside! 😦 )

    I remember my mom taking great care to pack for me and to write sweet and encouraging notes when I was in elementary school. I imagine that your daughter will certainly look back on these years with fond memories!

  8. August 11, 2008 12:46 pm

    Deb, I think lunch boxes are fascinating too. It is like an adventure with all the preparation. I think the best way will be to make lists and plan menus so that we will have the food we need at the beginning of each week. With that long commute, I guess you are needing more fuel!

    Blue Milk, thanks!

    Susannah, I remember that my mom wrote notes too. Thanks for the suggestion to shop at Pearl River. The preschool director warned us not to pack lunch containers that were difficult for children to open by themselves. These are just fine!

Comments are closed.

