Skip to content

F-F-Friday (6)

August 8, 2008

. . .

zucchini flower

. . .

bean flowers

. . .

my daughter holding a flower

. . .

my son playing in the garden

. . .

My dad’s garden is giving us tomatoes, zucchini and yellow squash. Soon the cucumbers and beans will be ready. He has also planted beets, okra, pumpkins, watermelons and corn. I like how blossoms turn into fruits and vegetables. Photography inspires me to pay more attention and document the cycles in Nature. I’ve never been as interested in my dad’s garden as I am this year. Part of that is because I want my children to notice how things grow, and part of it is because I want to practice taking photos. And part of it is because I am concerned about what we are eating, and I want to emphasize eating fruits and vegetables from Granddad’s garden.

I always encourage my children to play in the garden when we are visiting. They enjoy taking shovels out in the dirt. Sometimes they pile up the dirt and call it a castle. My son wanted to make a “worm cake” like he saw Max (a cartoon bunny on TV) making recently, but we didn’t find any worms. I hope you’re having a fantastic floral Friday!

F-F-Friday is hosted by Saintseester.

. . .

9 Comments
  1. August 8, 2008 10:20 am

    Is that pretty pink flower a zinnia? I love that photograph by the way. I’ve been having a lot of fun with the theme, and I love seeing what you guys come up with each week.

  2. August 8, 2008 10:26 am

    I was going to ask that! I failed to buy zinnias this year – am I too late? I haven’t driven by any nurseries in my little sphere of late and I have got to make this a MUST-DO before I’m too late! I love zinnias. I tried to plant some form seed but they haven’t amounted to anything.

    You have great reasons to be interested in the garden and I bet Dad is thrilled for the documentation.

    PS I posted my zuc bread recipe awhile back… in case you missed it, maybe…

  3. August 8, 2008 10:49 am

    Saintseester, I think it is a zinnia. My mom planted them from seed. I’m really enjoying F-F-Fridays too!

    Curious C, my mom’s zinnias didn’t do very well this year either. In the past she’s gotten so many more from seed than she did this time. My dad does enjoy that I am documenting his garden’s produce. I saw your recipe. Thanks!

  4. August 8, 2008 10:55 am

    Hahaha FW, Gerrit tries to make worm cakes too! It must be a boy thing, bunny or not LOL.

    I really wanted to get into gardening this year but we had a lot of stuff going on when I should have been planting seeds and such so I am setting the goal next summer to have my own yummy vegatables and such. We do have fresh mint out there but the only thing I can think to do with that is make mojitos and they ain’t so healthy πŸ˜‰ I am trying to much more aware of what kinds of foods my family is consuming. Bad habits die hard though. But progress is a continuous thing and I’m better than I used to be.

    Also, I love the picture of your daughter with the Gerbera Daisy(?) in hand. One of my fav. flowers. If I’m not mistaken that is LOL. I don’t have any idea what a zinnia is so that’s what I’m going with

  5. August 8, 2008 11:56 am

    Ah.. yes.. Worm cakes. My son doesn’t make those. he’d rather hit the ball or throw the frisbee.

    I want a spot in the yard for vegetables (carrots, radishes, baby sweet watermelons & green beans). I haven’t figured out how to take a clear picture of the flowers, my auto focus wants to focus on something else and I’m not sure how to change that. 😦

  6. August 8, 2008 1:18 pm

    Chris, you are wise to be aware and change your family’s habits. Sometimes you just have to draw the line. I personally want to make changes, but my husband does not. It frustrates me not to have his support.

    Randomability, auto focus can be a bitch. Make sure it is on macro and get really close to the flower. Keep insisting until it focuses on what you want. Sometimes I take a dozen photos of the same flower and then only post the best one here.

  7. August 8, 2008 1:57 pm

    I love the photos especially of your beautiful children. I have tomatoes this year but hope to have my kids plant a vegetable garden next year. I had gardens when my kids were younger and my son especially took to gardening and had his own little garden that he tended. He is still my nature boy up in Alaska fishing for salmon with all those grizzly bears. Now that I am on weight watchers everyone here eats healthy organic foods. They have no choice because I do the cooking but they seem quite happy with what I cook.

  8. Organic Mama permalink
    August 8, 2008 3:57 pm

    Great photos! My cukes and pole beans are looking just like those and I am so looking forward to those beans. I also didn’t plant zinnias this year and really miss them!

    We live on 6 acres in New England and I am also a firm believer in the go and get dirty, see how things grow and pick a snack and eat it school of thought.

    I’ve been F-F-Fridaying it for a while now and haven’t been acknowledging Saintseeter as the originator -off to do that now…

  9. August 9, 2008 8:25 am

    Joan, thank you! OMG, your son must have been so adorable tending his own garden. That’s great that you all are eating healthy food! Stay away from the Pringles!

    Organic Mama, thanks. That’s a great school of thought. I acknowledge Saintseester in F-F-Friday because linking to her blog makes her come over here and comment! LOL! Thank you for coming over, too.

Comments are closed.

