Skip to content

Painted Ceramic Animals

August 2, 2008

. . .

painted ceramic animals

. . .

I took my children to a pottery studio downtown and let each of them pick out something to paint. My daughter had a hard time deciding between a horse and a dolphin and a tea cup and a fairy. My son went straight for the circus elephant, without any question. When we had finished painting, we had to leave the ceramic animals at the studio for a week. (And I made a spoon rest for our stove top, but it’s really lame so I don’t want to show the photo.) Then when we picked them up, they had been glazed and fired in a kiln. We are so happy with the shiny results! This project is expensive, but I’m on the mailing list now. Hopefully the owner will email us a coupon soon so that we can go back.

. . .

painted ceramic animals

. . .

painted ceramic animals

. . .

painted ceramic animals

. . .

This is my son’s idea of posing for a photo. He is saying, “Cheeeeeese!”

. . .

13 Comments
  1. August 3, 2008 1:33 am

    Ahahahaa! You can totally tell he’s saying cheese! πŸ˜€
    That sounds so cool. And look at how much fun they had with color!
    i think it’s great that you encourage artistic creativity in your children. There’s not much of that going on in school these days. My husband and i have always surrounded ourselves with art of all kinds and encourage the girls to draw, color, paint and write. They’ve written plays and put them on, songs and performed them, made up dances and so on. ReneΓ© is working on a comic and Caitlyn has written several stories- pages and pages long!

    Keep up the good work. i don’t think i’d like to be old in a world without art.

  2. August 3, 2008 3:24 pm

    I LOVE THOSE! We have a place like that but have never been. I enjoyed following the art blog links you shared~and have you ever visited hiddenart here at WP? She’s on Sabbatical right now, and I can’t wait to have her back!

    We homeschool using Ambleside Online which schedules in artist studies, and for some reason this year I am REALLY art focused and looking into really delving in!

    (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  3. August 3, 2008 5:15 pm

    Uh, I see artist number two in the family…like mother, like daughter!

  4. August 4, 2008 8:37 am

    I love how shiny and smooth and glossy they are. That’s right – you’re doing Art in August, or something, yes?

  5. August 4, 2008 2:53 pm

    Lovely keepsakes are tickets to lovely memories. And these are just lovely!

  6. August 4, 2008 2:59 pm

    The elephant is just beautiful!

  7. Lofter permalink
    August 4, 2008 5:34 pm

    Cool stuff! What a great activity to share with the kiddos! I applaud your ingenuity, as well as your sense of adventure! Although, I must say, I’m disappointed that you chickened out on sharing your spoon cradle… I’ll bet it was cool, too!
    On the other hand, I think you should check what kind of cheese you’re feeding your son… I think it may have gone sour on you! LOL! What an adorable face! Great stuff, indeed! πŸ˜€

  8. August 5, 2008 10:21 am

    wow, this looks like such a wonderful (and fun) project! let’s see that spoon rest πŸ™‚

  9. August 5, 2008 11:43 am

    There is a pottery studio here. They also offer laser tag. Strange combo, but we had fun. Can’t wait to pick up our painted pieces. Blogging about it later today & will post tonight at 8pm. Good luck on the giveaway. πŸ™‚

    Confessions of an Apron Queen

  10. August 5, 2008 12:01 pm

    Thanks for the comments, everybody! You all are so nice. The spoon rest that I made coordinates with the mat in front of the sink. I wanted it to feature olives, but I couldn’t transfer my “vision” to the paintbrush, so it didn’t turn out very well. Plus the fact that my son and daughter kept getting down from the table and running around in the studio (bulls in a china shop) so I couldn’t concentrate. Like I said, lame.

  11. August 5, 2008 1:38 pm

    That isn’t lame. i like the combination of colors.

  12. August 5, 2008 4:16 pm

    Thanks, c. I was able to remember the colors from the mat, but I wasn’t able to remember how to shape olive leaves or how to shade and highlight.

  13. August 5, 2008 8:11 pm

    C is right, not lame at all. I love those colors together!

Comments are closed.

