Skip to content

F-F-Friday (5)

August 1, 2008

. . .

a watermelon in my dad's garden

. . .

a peach ripening on the tree

. . .

a flowering purple thistle

. . .

jewel weed, the antidote to poison ivy

. . .

I picked that peach on Sunday and ate it on Tuesday. It was delicious! The watermelon needs a lot more time to grow. You can’t really tell how small it is from this photo, but trust me, it is only about 4 inches long. My dad planted watermelons to appease my daughter. She’s very excited about it.

I took a photo of a thistle because it intrigued me. I know they are despised, but they are pretty. There was a neon green spider hiding in this one. His little leg is just barely visible. The last photo is of jewel weed, which my dad told me has juicy stems that are helpful on poison ivy rash. When I looked it up on-line, I read that it tends to grow right beside poison ivy, like a big hint from Nature. I think the flower is just exquisite. It looks so tropical and unusual hanging there.

Since I have two photos of fruit and two photos of flowering weeds, today is Fruity Floral Friday. Not gonna drop the F-bomb in today’s post. F-F-Friday is hosted by Saintseester.

12 Comments
  1. August 1, 2008 10:32 am

    Love the Fruity Florals, and that peach does look yummy!

  2. August 1, 2008 2:52 pm

    Thank you, saintseester. I’m sorry you’re having a crappy time at work, but your photo today was lovely.

  3. August 1, 2008 4:03 pm

    I think I dropped enough F-bombs for both of us.

    The path on the way to one of the spraygrounds is lined with Thistle and black eyed Susans. I keep meaning to take my good camera with me.

  4. August 1, 2008 4:05 pm

    Thistles are beautiful. I went to the farmer’s market today and it was PEACH DAY. So many and they are so good.

  5. August 1, 2008 4:41 pm

    oh peaches!! That little pipsqueak of a watermelon will grow big before you know it, right? I don’t think we have any of that jewel weed growing near our p.ivy… Luckly, I’m not too sensitive.

    (and what are you going to do with those zucs?)

  6. August 2, 2008 6:43 am

    Thanks for visiting my (Dutch) site! I made those “misty morning” pictures very early. It was an unique experience to be in nature at the moment that the sun came up.
    Because of our climate, we can’t grow melons, peaches sometimes when we have a nice summer. So, I suppose you live in a sunny territory. Lucky you!
    (As English isn’t my mother tongue, please correct me if I make big mistakes)

  7. August 2, 2008 3:10 pm

    Very nice pics. Strong compositions.

  8. August 2, 2008 4:40 pm

    That peach looks lovely! Is that growing at your parent’s place? mmmm…fruit…

    My cukes are starting to out pace me, and I’ve had my first pepper and a few scattered tomatoes, but I definitely need to do some berries as well next year! There is something about those sweet fruits…

    Weeds are often gorgeous, aren’t they? I let one odd weed grow and flower on my patio, and after it seemed to have died, I pulled it out only to find that it had been a volunteer/wild shallot! Or some onion something like that. Kind of cool!

    Have you heard of this guy “wildman steve brill”? http://www.wildmanstevebrill.com/

    He gives tours through some parks in nyc, and I went on one a couple years ago. It was neat! I can’t say that I’d trust myself (let alone remember at this point) to identify the safe and tasty stuff but it definitely makes you look at “weeds” in a different way!

  9. August 3, 2008 1:38 am

    i’ve know why weeds are weeds- because they choke out everything else around them- but i, for one, love dandelions. i like the yellow bloom, i like the fluff for wishing… We see those thistles everywhere we hike and they look beautiful amidst the poppies and tall grass.

    The way you’ve captured the watermelon does make it seem huge. It looks so shiny and pretty.

  10. August 3, 2008 5:16 pm

    Officially jealous and envious of life in farm country!!!! Pics are superb!

  11. August 5, 2008 4:39 pm

    My mouth is watering looking at that picture of the peach.

    I love thistles. I think they’re beautiful, and I have a good friend named Thistle. Our library director has a huge one in his garden and tells a story about one of the queens of England (I think), who would carry thistle seeds in her pocket, and whenever she visited gardens that she found too stuffy, she’d discreetly scatter a few thistle seeds in the soil.

  12. August 8, 2008 11:42 am

    You’re right – we took the same photo!!

    I’m SO envious of your ability to grow fruit where you live. New England is only really good for growing peas and apples.

    I think thistles are beautiful, too, but that could only be because I’m Scottish…

Comments are closed.

