Skip to content

SiLLiNeSS! (2)

July 31, 2008

1. My son gave himself “low-lights” with my mascara wand. I left a small bag of brushes on the computer desk instead of putting it away in my purse. He woke up a little bit earlier than I would have liked, so I stayed in bed. While no one was watching, he scaled the gate that “blocks” the entrance to our kitchen (see how effective it is?) and discovered this treasure of mine. He brushed mascara into his hair and pieces of it were randomly black and spiked stiff. Remember the lipstick incident? It’s so not fair because I don’t even wear makeup; I just keep it around for special occasions.

2. When we came home from the store, we found a colorful invitation to Vacation Bible School leaning against our door. There were invitations leaning against each of the doors in our apartment building. Stapled to the cards were sandwich bags full of candy because we all know Jesus loves for little children to eat candy. It is silly when churches use this marketing tactic, don’t you agree?

3. We live on the second floor and have a wooden balcony in the front with stairs to the parking lot. My children always count the stairs on our way down. Since my son listens carefully to his older sister when she’s counting, he knows that there are fourteen steps. So, his version of counting the stairs goes like this: “One, two, three, four, eleven, twelve, thirteen, fourteen, fourteen, fourteen, fourteen, fourteen, fourteen, FOURTEEN! I did it!”

4. In the mornings, I always pull the blinds all the way up to let the sunshine in our apartment.  Then when my husband comes home from work, he feels self-conscious because it’s getting darker outside so he goes around shutting them. Our son was playing very happily on his bedroom floor and needed the remaining sunlight to see what he was doing.  I pulled the blinds down and closed the curtain at my husband’s predictable request, and my son said, “Hey!  Why’d you turn the window off?”

5. My daughter pretends that she is a dog named Sam.  She asks me to teach her tricks like “roll over” and “jump up” and she pants and barks.

Thanks again to Sandi for the idea behind these SiLLiNeSS! blog posts.

. . .

11 Comments
  1. July 31, 2008 12:55 pm

    life w kids is never boring, is it? at least you are keeping track of these cute memories =)

  2. July 31, 2008 5:25 pm

    It’s nice to write silly things down once a week, because otherwise I forget. Thanks for coming by to comment, Goldie. 🙂 You are sweet.

  3. July 31, 2008 8:06 pm

    OMG, those are so funny. I love them all but I can so picture #3.

  4. July 31, 2008 8:26 pm

    how funny! Kids are something else!!

  5. July 31, 2008 9:21 pm

    “why’d you turn the window off” – classic! I love it!

  6. July 31, 2008 9:32 pm

    When my now 21 year old was about 4 years old, I was explaining that his Auntie had to have surgery. “What is surgery?” he asked. I explained that Auntie was sick and that the doctor had to open her up and go inside her body to make her better.

    My boy looked very perplexed at that and asked, “But how does the doctor get so little that he can go inside to make her better?”

    I loved reading your list because it reminded me of my own!

  7. August 1, 2008 10:37 am

    I LOVE #3! HA HA HA!

    I can’t do a list once a week~I hafta write things down as they happen or they are *totally gone*. I SO WISH we didn’t have dial-up so I could see those dances you told me about!!!! One day… You don’t by any chance know of any postcards of that mural I wanna see, do ya? I know you’re not supposed to take pics of it, so I can’t find ANYTHING!

    BTW~do YOU dance? (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  8. August 1, 2008 11:47 am

    Joan, they are funny. Thanks for commenting! I counted all the fourteens that I wrote out to make sure there were enough. Haha.

    gr8tful, I love that expression “something else.” It makes good sense. 🙂

    Deb, I like saving energy. Ha!

    teeveebee, hi! Thank you for visiting my blog and sharing that story about your son. It’s so neat to see how their brains try to process what we say.

    Sandi, I found this painting by Marcos Zapata (born in 1710). He’s from Cusco. This painting is probably on display in the Cathedral of Cusco. There’s cui (roasted guinea pig) on the table! Is that the one you were thinking of?

    That’s sad that you can’t watch YouTube with dial-up. The Peruvian dances are beautiful. I don’t dance, but I enjoy watching other people dance and I bob my head and tap my toes.

  9. August 1, 2008 2:25 pm

    I agree #2 is a questionable enticement strategy employed by churches to get the kids to beg mummy and daddy to take them to the soul salvation factory. Sugar corrupts the brain and body, making them all the more malleable and susceptible to redeemer complex brainwashing.

    #4 reminds me of the Family Circus cartoons. Did you ever see the Dysfunctional Family Circus cartoons? The captions have been replaced with warnings about the New World Order, STDs, and other unpleasantries. Here is a link I found to some.

    http://www.drivenbyboredom.com/category/dysfunctional-family-circus/

  10. August 3, 2008 5:21 pm

    I remember the lipstick and this is just as cute and funny…well; in perspective! ha

  11. August 5, 2008 10:06 am

    Johnny, regarding the sugar’s effect on the brain I agree with you.

    CG, yes, luckily I don’t really care about my makeup. His hair smelled lovely and I was able to stay calm and not make a big fuss about it. At least it was his hair and not the carpet this time.

Comments are closed.

