Skip to content

Paintings and Creative Interpretations

July 30, 2008

My son really went to town with the paintings on Monday and Tuesday. He only spent about 2 minutes on each one, but he had a great time. He claims that most of them are sharks. We were using Apple Barrel brand acrylic paint. It looks to me like he’s ready to move on to canvas. And I want to get some tempera powdered paint and mix that into shaving cream. I bet they would have fun with that texture on some posterboard, as suggested by The Artful Parent.

. . .

first paintings hung on the cabinets

. . .

first paintings hung on the cabinets

. . .

first paintings hung on the cabinets

. . .

And, by the way, I am loving that my children are trying to memorize the lyrics to “Dragostea Din Tei” by O-Zone. If you haven’t heard it before, now is your chance. It’s a dance club song that boasts lyrics like, “Hello, hello! It’s me, Picasso” sung in Romanian. My children love to copy the sounds of the words.

. . .

. . .

19 Comments
  1. July 30, 2008 10:16 am

    Love the art gallery in your kitchen, it looks great. That movie is just too funny. I always get that song stuck in my head and now it’s stuck in my head with the wrong lyrics. No my, no my A. Hah!

  2. July 30, 2008 10:26 am

    I love the shark pics, but I’m sure the green one is an alligator.

  3. July 30, 2008 11:13 am

    I love the shark paintings. My son is a shark fisherman. I’ll have to direct him here to see real shark paintings. He’ll love it. The video was awesome. Now we need a video of your kid’s version. That shaving cream painting sounds like fun.

  4. July 30, 2008 11:25 am

    ohhh… We’re running out of room on the fridge. Maybe we ought to tape them to the cabinets too.

    I think my brother blogged the video once, or maybe SGEP. It’s a pretty funny one.

  5. July 30, 2008 11:26 am

    My brother, Mr. Smarty Farty Pants! LOL!!

  6. July 30, 2008 12:42 pm

    Ann, that’s what happens to me too. Ragu sledding yay! My parents used to put art made my brother and me on their kitchen cabinets, so I feel really comfortable with that. It feels familiar.

    Bikkuri, I’m sure my son would agree. He likes alligators, too. Thanks for your comment!

    Joan, if you send Damon here that would be so funny. I didn’t know he was a shark fisherman. I do want to make a video of them singing this song, but they insist on more practice before the release date.

    Randomability, I think art taped on the cabinets is great, at least for a week or so. My son was really surprised and happy when he saw his paintings there. This video has like a million views, so Mr. Smarty Farty Pants, among others, probably did blog it. It has a lot of appeal.

  7. July 30, 2008 3:01 pm

    You must have used a level to hang those works of art. Impressive. Looks like a gallery. How long do these hang before the next showing?

  8. July 30, 2008 4:47 pm

    LOL. No, I didn’t use a level; I eyeballed it. I’m thinking they’ll be up for about a week before we make something else to display.

  9. Lofter permalink
    July 30, 2008 6:08 pm

    So many sharks! Good thing you have lots of cabinets! And the tempura paint and shaving cream idea is definitely one I’ll remember for my grandson… he’d go nuts with that! Great stuff! 😀

  10. July 31, 2008 7:06 am

    I LOVE that you love your kids more than your kitchen cabintry (do you know how many moms I know that wouldn’t dare display art due to tape on their precious cabinets?!) anyway – you have the best priorities. and what great art it is, too!!

    you’ve been…… TAGGED!

  11. July 31, 2008 5:32 pm

    Lofter, we do have a lot of cabinets, and plain ones at that. So they needed to be “updated” obviously. Have fun with your grandson and the shaving cream experiment!

    Curious C, thanks for the encouragement! I know both kinds of moms. It must be hard to be a child who is loved less than cabinets. 😉 And thanks for the tag as well.

  12. pppj permalink
    July 31, 2008 11:24 pm

    Oh gosh…that is FUNNY. I can’t wait to show it to the kids in the morning. I’ll let you know how it goes over!

  13. August 1, 2008 11:48 am

    Yes, PPPJ, please let me know what yours think of it! Mine are totally smitten.

  14. Liza permalink
    August 1, 2008 6:32 pm

    Wow — love that idea of the paintings on the kitchen cabinets. I’ll be following suit as soon as the surge of my 5-year old’s school work comes home again!

  15. August 5, 2008 10:09 am

    Liza, my parents always used their kitchen cabinets that way. And they let us decorate the refrigerator with stickers. (I wouldn’t recommend that 😉 )

  16. August 7, 2008 9:30 am

    LMAO… run from a slutty date! That was awesome. I was thinking at first that you did the video but then the comments made me doubt that. So which is it? Your hilarious creation or just your hilarious discovery?

  17. August 7, 2008 12:37 pm

    Chris, this is something we discovered on YouTube when we were watching the original music video made by O-Zone. This is the parody, or misheard lyrics. But my son has memorized all the lyrics so I’m going to record him singing it if he will let me.

  18. August 16, 2008 8:50 am

    Your kitchen is looking like a classroom! I love the paintings! Shaving cream with paint is so much fun! Shaving cream is also wonderful to clean desks with…letting the children do it, of course. They love it!

  19. August 16, 2008 12:11 pm

    Mercedes, thanks! They are still on the cabinets because we like them so much. I’ve heard that shaving cream is a fun and great smelling way to get students to clean their desks. That’s great that you can do that in your classroom.

Comments are closed.

