Skip to content

Adventures in the life of

July 29, 2008

If I had a twitter account, I would have been writing tweets such as, “Sliced my index finger on a can of tuna” and, “My son peed in the potty.” But since I don’t have an outlet for “micro-blogging,” I haven’t felt that I have anything of consequence to write about lately. This is what we did yesterday:

Yesterday and today are national holidays in Peru called Fiestas Patrias. I cooked white rice, like we have almost every night, and fried plantains. I made the red onion and avocado salad that you can find on my recipe page and a simple chicken salad (just boiled some chicken breasts in salt water and garnished it with celery and mayonnaise). This dinner was the extent of our celebration. In Peru, this is the largest national holiday all year (well, maybe second to Christmas). In 2001, I was a student and tourist in Peru during the month of June. June is a wonderful month to visit Peru!

. . .

una cena peruana

. . .

When I was teaching English in Japan, my best friend in the English Department gave my daughter a dress that she bought on a trip to Hawaii. This summer (after patiently hanging four years in the closet) this beautiful Hawaiian print dress finally fits her! Isn’t it adorable? I am going to email Naoko these photos and thank her for her thoughtful gift.

. . .

pink Hawaiian print dress

. . .

pink Hawaiian print dress

. . .

A few days ago I started reading the blog Soule Mama and I’ve become more deliberate about facilitating creativity in my children. I want to have a home where art is honored and their creative spirit thrives! Through Amanda’s blog, I found a blogger on WordPress who posts about art in her daughter’s life. It is the greatest resource! Her ideas and photos are such fun that I fell in love with Jean’s blog, The Artful Parent, at first sight. So here is the art that my children were making at the kitchen table yesterday:

. . .

art project at the kitchen table

. . .

art project at the kitchen table

. . .

Yesterday marks the start of the four week countdown to the first day of Montessori preschool. Besides taking a photo a day, which I plan to do, are there any other suggestions for things that I can do with my daughter in our last month before school?

. . .

14 Comments
  1. July 29, 2008 10:54 am

    Wow, all sorts of great stuff in this post! Now I’m inspired to try more art projects. I loved the idea on The Artful Parent of baking bread dough into fun shapes. You could probably even play around with “painting” them with food coloring in the egg wash at the end. I’m going to have to look for some avocados to make your ensalada de palta recipe, because it looks amazing!

  2. July 29, 2008 12:39 pm

    Alphabetical WORD of the DAY?!

  3. July 29, 2008 1:04 pm

    Montessori Preschool!! We LOVE IT!!!! Right now, the only thing holding sending my daughter there is the potty training thing. But since she has a late September Birthday, she’ll have an extra year there.

    Also, with Baby Girl, Last year’s dresses are this year’s shirts! LOL!! The dress is adorable.

  4. July 29, 2008 2:01 pm

    Ann, yes, that blog is very inspirational. I love the idea for sewing beanbags because I have so many beans that I need to use somehow (not going to get cooked, so I might as well make them into toys)! Enjoy the salad if you decide to try it!

    Curious C, that is a great suggestion! Thank you.

    Randomability, so your son goes there and your daughter will start next year? I always use dresses as shirts on her too. They look so cute that way. 🙂

  5. July 29, 2008 10:14 pm

    The art/creativity thing is so cool, and it must be so rewarding for all of you!

    I went to a montessori preschool. We were so far ahead when we went to regular school afterwards. Not sure if that is typical or not, but I remember a very hands-on style of learning.

    Your daughter is adorable in that little sundress! And great timing for her to fit into it, with this summer weather on us!

  6. July 30, 2008 10:10 am

    Deb, it is rewarding! You are right about being ahead. She can also take kindergarten there next year and then would be ready for first grade. I am still thinking about homeschooling her instead of sending her to public school. We are loving the weather and summer dresses!

  7. July 30, 2008 10:23 am

    How do you find these other blogs? I have always been disappointed with the lack of search tools, but I gather I must be missing something.

  8. July 30, 2008 10:37 am

    I like to explore the blogrolls that are on blogs I already read. Soule Mama was on someone’s blogroll and then she had a link to The Artful Parent where she was interviewed. I also use the tags when I write about something like “Polyface Farms” I click on the tag in my own post and see who else is writing about that.

  9. July 30, 2008 1:34 pm

    I was fortunate to be a stay at home mom and loved spending summers with my kids. I was also fortunate to live near a pond that we could walk to and the ocean. We spent most of our days outdoors. We went on many picnics. On rainy days we had a craft box and all the things the kids had collected outdoors during the week we turned into art. Shells, leaves, flowers, sticks, pebbles all became some kind of art project. Lots of collages. We always had a chapter book going that we would read a chapter a day. We always spent part of the day learning numbers and letters.

    My daughter has a girlfriend who has a four year old and that poor child is glued to the TV all day and has been for years. So Sad.

    I miss having young children around.

  10. July 30, 2008 4:45 pm

    Joan, I feel the same way. I would like to live in a house that would facilitate such walks and picnics and projects. It must have been great for you all!

  11. Liza permalink
    August 1, 2008 6:34 pm

    The more I read, the more I realize how much we have in common. In addition to the multiracial kids (2 of them … with the 1/2 Asian thanks to me!), my older daughter also has the same dress as your daughter, AND my kids go to Montessori…. woah.. we are living parallel lives!

  12. August 3, 2008 10:06 am

    That’s funny, Liza. Thanks for pointing out all the connections. That makes me happy.

  13. August 3, 2008 5:13 pm

    Oh my gosh, his hair cut…. he looks like a little man now!!!!!!!!!! Cutie pies!

  14. August 5, 2008 9:59 am

    Thanks CG. The haircut was a very good decision. I didn’t know how much it would change our perception of him. We treat him like he’s capable of more now since he looks older.

Comments are closed.

