Skip to content

F-F-Friday (4)

July 25, 2008

Today I am showcasing five recent photos from my parents’ garden. The pollen-covered butterfly made a big impression on us. My dad was able to catch it and my daughter got to experience holding it for a few seconds. The patronizing disclaimer is: don’t try this at home. Humans shouldn’t touch a butterfly’s wings because their scales come off on our fingers. They depend on their reflective coloring and delicate structure to survive (in other words, the butterfly in this photo probably died because of our interference).

The blackberries which grow along the garden’s wooden fence are ripening and the birds are enjoying feasting on them. My dad makes a blackberry cobbler with the texture of a cake, which he calls “Mountain Pie.” So which is it: cobbler, cake or pie?

While photohunting in their garden on Sunday, I noticed that I have a preference for the varieties of lilies with ruffled petals. The ruffled edges add appeal, in my opinion, because they create depth and soft shadows. That’s what I like about Georgia O’Keeffe’s paintings.

And lastly, there is a photo of a bee on a flower called Black-Eyed Susan.

. . .

my daughter holding a butterfly

. . .

ripe blackberries

. . .

a lily in my dad's garden

. . .

a lily in my dad's garden

. . .

a Black-Eyed Susan in my dad's garden

fightingwindmills.wordpress.com

Happy Fucking Floral Friday. Thanks, Saintseester, for hosting this end-of-the-week photographic exchange.

15 Comments
  1. July 25, 2008 9:53 am

    The bees are everywhere!!

  2. July 25, 2008 10:09 am

    LOVELY!

  3. July 25, 2008 2:55 pm

    Nice photos. I wanted to grab those blackberries right off the screen. I planted some raspberries this year and all I’ve got to show for it are two dead sticks.

  4. July 25, 2008 4:04 pm

    Beautiful photos! That butterfly is enormous in little Sweet’s hand.

    In Ashland, OR, just south of my little Mayberry, the city wants to eradicate the wild blackberry brambles that grow, well, everywhere. Sad. We go picking by the creek near our home and make, as Caity calls them, blackberry ‘smoodies’.

  5. July 25, 2008 7:59 pm

    Randomability, my son has a knock knock joke to tell you. Ready?
    Knock, knock.
    Who’s there?
    Bees.
    Bees, who?
    Bees won’t hurt you. Bees a’ eating da flowers!

    CuriousC, thanks!

    Joan, they do look delicious! My daughter says to tell you that your avatar photo is really nice. Sorry about your raspberries. 😦

    c, thank you! Mmmmm . . . smoodies! I like the sound of that! My daughter saw your avatar today and tried to make one like it in the Paint program.

  6. July 25, 2008 8:25 pm

    Oh my gosh…
    i’m adorable!

    She really did a good job. It took me forevers to make that.

  7. July 25, 2008 9:01 pm

    We love yours! It shows that you took great care in making it. 🙂

  8. July 25, 2008 11:47 pm

    Oh, those blackberries look so succulent, and really to die for! Once I took my kids hiking off a beaten path, and we got caught in a terrible knot of briars. After a little crying and fussing, my daughter noticed the ripe blackberries all over the place, forgot about her scratches and just went to town. Yum!

  9. pppj permalink
    July 27, 2008 9:30 pm

    Oh that’s lovely!

  10. July 28, 2008 11:48 am

    Great story, saintseester! Thanks again for the opportunity to share floral photos. It’s a lot of fun.

    Thanks, pppj.

  11. July 28, 2008 12:22 pm

    Please provide a update on the butterfly’s condition if possible. I did not know that holding them could be so detrimental to their health. She (or he) looked like a real trooper and there did not seem to be a lot of wing contact. Thank you in advance.

  12. July 28, 2008 1:07 pm

    Thanks for asking about her, Johnny. When my daughter let go of her, she sputtered away with a great deal of effort, indicating to me that her wings were probably affected by being held. I don’t know if she was able to recover. Eastern Swallowtail Butterflies are Virginia’s state insect, so next time we will be more considerate.

  13. July 28, 2008 5:14 pm

    He can call his blackberry concoction whatever he wishes. Don’t forget the vanilla ice cream!

  14. July 28, 2008 10:05 pm

    Okay, the pics are getting seriously beautiful. Da berries are to die for and is he sharing his mountain pie recipe??????? 🙂

  15. July 29, 2008 7:43 am

    Wilson, my dad likes it with vanilla ice cream, too. That’s so true about what the dish is called: he has that authority as the picker of the berries and the baker of the cobbler.

    CG, thank you! I’m sure he would share his recipe (or at least a general idea since he doesn’t follow strict recipes).

Comments are closed.

